Names…

Now, I don’t know about you, but I really really really have a thing for names.

Since I first heard it when I must’ve been about 5, my all time favourite name was ‘Sam’ (for boys anyway; girls is ‘Alice’). I even named my teddy bear ‘Sam’ (although this got awkward when I moved house and started fancying a guy called Sam. BOOM, everyone thinks I named by teddy bear after him…).

But what about meanings for people names. Do the names you use mean anything? I like mine to mean things, but if I see the perfect name, I will bloomin’ well use it.

For example, though, I am planning for a Teen Wolf fanfiction (happy face!). I want my MC to be called ‘Quinn’, which is the name of one of my American friends, and also means ‘smart’, which I would like my character to be. Another name I want to use for a boy, who I am likely going to kill, is ‘Enos’, which means ‘mortal’.

Gods, I feel so evil sometimes.

But what really made me write this post was trying to think up place names. I ended up using a generator today, because after failing to find inspiration in my living room, I gave up. I think place names are much much harder than character names, mainly because you can name someone ‘James’ and no one will think anything of it. But if you call a small village ‘London’, people will think you’re a bit odd.

I own a baby name book (no, I’m not pregnant) with 60,001+ names; it is my savior. For another work in progress, I used the place name ‘Haute’, which I later looked up in my book (it gives meanings, too). If I can’t think of any names, I use the book. If I can’t think up surnames, I use the book, because some of the names are a bit weird and suit surnames instead. Normally, if I can’t think up any place names, I’ll have a look in the book (I just really could not be bothered to get up and get it today. Tells you how tired I am, really).

So yes, I’m not really sure what the purpose of this was. Just go and get yourself a baby name book, and you’ll never ever look back. Trust me. I’m the Doctor.

(Well, not really, but could you imagine?!)

2 thoughts on “Names…

  1. Hi! I realise that you may not be of need of the help but I just thought I’d mention a certain forum on the NaNoWriMo website, which I am finding rather useful at the moment (you may have already seen it, but I thought I would let you know anyway).
    It’s called Appellation Station ( http://nanowrimo.org/forums/appellation-station ) and I’m sure you’ll be able to find something name-worthy in there if you’re out of place name ideas and still can’t be bothered to crack open your trusty book..
    x

Leave a Reply

