Book Review | Midnight in Everwood by M. A. Kuzniar | a nutcracker retelling in a magical land!

Nottingham, 1906

Marietta Stelle longs to be a ballerina but as Christmas draws nearer, her dancing days are numbered. At the wishes of her family, she will be obligated to marry and take up her place in society in the New Year. But when a mysterious new toymaker, Dr Drosselmeier, purchases a neighbouring townhouse, it heralds the arrival of magic and wonder in her life. Although Drosselmeier’s magic is darker than Marietta could have imagined…

When he constructs an elaborate theatrical set for her final ballet performance, Marietta discovers it carries a magic all of its own. As the clock chimes midnight, Marietta finds herself walking through a land of snow-topped fir trees leading to a frozen sugar palace silent with secrets and must find a way to return home. In the darkness of night, magic awaits and you will never forget what you find here…


I was super excited to read this book, but I have to say I had a bit of a mixed reaction to it… It wasn’t my favourite Christmas novel, though some scenes absolutely delighted me!

Continue reading “Book Review | Midnight in Everwood by M. A. Kuzniar | a nutcracker retelling in a magical land!”

Unboxing | Books That Matter: I Weigh | January 2022

My January Books That Matter box landed on my doorstep last week, so of course I am going to share with you what we received this month!

This box was in collaboration with Jameela Jamil and the I Weigh campaign, designed to reevaluate what women & people in general consider their “weight”. Rather than saying “I weigh X lbs,” the campaign asks you to reconsider what you actually weigh – your friends, family, fears, hopes, dreams, what you love and hate. I have a very positive opinion of this campaign so I’m excited for this!

Continue reading “Unboxing | Books That Matter: I Weigh | January 2022”

Book Review | Hide by Nell Pattison | a boxing day murder mystery!

Seven friends. One killer. You can run, but you can’t hide…
It’s Boxing Day and your friendship group has planned a hike.
You know tensions are running high. You’ve heard the rumours flying around.
But this trip is a chance for you to reconnect.
As you head into the reserve, everyone is quiet. It almost feels like you’ve imagined the rift.
But as the sun sets, you hear a gun shot.
One of your group is dead.
And someone you know killed them…


This book was a ride! I’m not normally a fan of multiple-perspective books, but Pattison utilised it so well to create a real action-packed thriller.

Continue reading “Book Review | Hide by Nell Pattison | a boxing day murder mystery!”

Books to Read During Twixmas | 12 Days of Blogmas

Twixmas n.

The time period between Christmas and New Years where you have lots of opportunity to sit around and read books.

I’ve heard a lot about “Twixmas” this year, mainly because my dad is obsessed with the word. I love Twixmas – we often don’t do much aside from going to look at Christmas lights, and it means I often have lots of time to read the pile of books I received for Christmas! Most people in my life know me as a huge book lover, which means that most presents I receive are something bookish related. I even received a book-themed soap from my work Secret Santa this year!

So obviously I had to start my 12 Days of Blogmas this year with a list of book recommendations!

For someone who loves epic tomes…

The Priory of the Orange Tree

This one has to be Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon. This book is chunky but is perfect for Twixmas as you probably have lots of undivided reading time! This epic fantasy novel has dragons and battles, and queens and heroes. I actually only got half way through this one before I put it down – not due to the novel but due to life happenings – so I think this might be the perfect time for me to start again!

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (Harold Fry, #1)

For someone who loves reflective fiction…

I don’t read much adult fiction, but if you love it, you might be interested in Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. This book will make you feel sadness and joy, and reflect on your own life. It’s also the first in a series so there’s more to read if you enjoy it! This is a book you’ll want to read slowly to enjoy every moment of it.

For someone who loves to read about others…

Down in the Valley by Laurie Lee

For something delightfully Christmassy, Laurie Lee’s Down in the Valley is perfect. This is an adaptation of Lee’s BBC TV show, about his life and his memories of growing up in a valley. The acclaimed writer of Cider with Rosie takes us on a journey through his memories. I read this one in January 2021, and it was a great antidote to the cold outside!

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk

For someone who loves a tear jerker…

Okay, Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk is one of my favourite books of the year. Every time I pick it up to flick through, I can’t help but let me eyes get glued to the page and sucked back into the world of the story. Every word has been meticulously picked without seeming like she tried too hard. The story will make you consider what you knew at twelve and what it means to you now. It will make you consider outsiders and insiders and everyone else you thought you knew.

Howards End

For someone who loves accessible classics…

Howard’s End by EM Forster is accessible and desirable for anyone. This is proclaimed as his finest work (though I really enjoyed A Room with a View!) and follows three English families in the 1900s. I’ve not seen it, but I do know there is a TV adaptation too, so that might help with the long winter nights!

What books would you add to this list? I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and maybe pick up one of these books to add to your TBR for the Twixmas period!

Don’t forget to subscribe to see the rest of my 12 Days of Blogmas posts!

Until next time

Hannah x

Blog Tour | Agent in Berlin by Alex Gerlis | book review

In today’s post, I’m very excited to be taking part in a blog tour for new spy thriller novel Agent in Berlin by Alex Gerlis, published on November 4th, 2021 by Canelo Crime! You can check the book out on Amazon and Goodreads now, but continue reading to hear my thoughts! Thank you very much to The Book Network and Canelo Crime for gifting me a copy of the book.

Continue reading “Blog Tour | Agent in Berlin by Alex Gerlis | book review”

Blog Tour | No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen | book review, character quiz, PLUS a giveaway!

Today I’m excited to participate in the Creative Blog Tour for No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen hosted by MTMC Tours! For fans of Veronica Mars and Stranger Things comes an all-new YA mystery about a girl whose desperate search for her missing friend unearths dark secrets, preternatural threats, and a truth that could ultimately tear her family, friends, and town apart. Out on December 7th, 2021 from Delacorte Press, this YA mystery thriller is not one to miss!

ONE DESERT TOWN. MANY DISAPPEARANCES.

Continue reading “Blog Tour | No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen | book review, character quiz, PLUS a giveaway!”

Should I Get An eReader? | 7 reasons you should add an eReader to your library

Though I am a lover of bookstores, physical pages, and libraries, I cannot deny that I love my Kindle. Yet when the first Kindle came out, I looked down my nose at it unhappily. Why, I thought, would anyone want to read on a screen when they could have the page?

My parents bought me a Kindle in 2015 (ish), when I was about 14, for Christmas. I did use it occasionally, but it mostly gathered dust in the corner of my room. I did enjoy being able to read documents on it, and bought many classics and free books from Amazon to one day consume (spoiler alert: I never did…). Mostly, though, I forgot about it.

Continue reading “Should I Get An eReader? | 7 reasons you should add an eReader to your library”

My GIANT October 2021 TBR | can I complete two readathons?!

It’s October! The season of cosiness, autumn, The Nightmare Before Christmas, and plenty of Gothic, spooky books.

This month, I am actually posting a to be read/possibility list, because I want to participate in two readathons, and therefore there are lots of books I want to complete. So far, I’ve read two books in October (though none are on my TBR…), so I’m already doing quite well I think!

Continue reading “My GIANT October 2021 TBR | can I complete two readathons?!”