Blog Tour | Agent in Berlin by Alex Gerlis | book review

In today’s post, I’m very excited to be taking part in a blog tour for new spy thriller novel Agent in Berlin by Alex Gerlis, published on November 4th, 2021 by Canelo Crime! You can check the book out on Amazon and Goodreads now, but continue reading to hear my thoughts! Thank you very much to The Book Network and Canelo Crime for gifting me a copy of the book.

Continue reading “Blog Tour | Agent in Berlin by Alex Gerlis | book review”

Blog Tour | No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen | book review, character quiz, PLUS a giveaway!

Today I’m excited to participate in the Creative Blog Tour for No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen hosted by MTMC Tours! For fans of Veronica Mars and Stranger Things comes an all-new YA mystery about a girl whose desperate search for her missing friend unearths dark secrets, preternatural threats, and a truth that could ultimately tear her family, friends, and town apart. Out on December 7th, 2021 from Delacorte Press, this YA mystery thriller is not one to miss!

ONE DESERT TOWN. MANY DISAPPEARANCES.

Continue reading “Blog Tour | No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen | book review, character quiz, PLUS a giveaway!”

Blog Tour | The Crimson Countess by Brynn Myers | vampires and serial killers, oh my! | book journal & mini review

Today I’m excited to participate in the Creative Blog Tour for The Crimson Countess by Brynn Myers hosted by MTMC Tours! The Crimson Countess is an Adult Gothic Romance inspired by the tales of the Blood Countess, Elizabeth Báthory, and it will be republished on June 5, 2021 from Indigo Ink Publications. Thank you so much to MTMC Tours for inviting me to take part.

Continue reading “Blog Tour | The Crimson Countess by Brynn Myers | vampires and serial killers, oh my! | book journal & mini review”

BLOG TOUR | Kill or Cure by Pixie Britton | including Author Interview!

Today I’m excited to participate in the Creative Blog Tour for Kill or Cure by Pixie Britton hosted by MTMC Tours! Kill or Cure is the gut-wrenching first book in the Kill or Cure post-apocalyptic dystopian teen fiction series. If you like feisty young heroines, struggles against chaos, and teenage love, then you’ll adore Pixie Britton’s action-packed trilogy! The ebook is ON SALE for 99p during the tour!

Thank you so much to MTMC Tours for inviting me to take part!

Continue reading “BLOG TOUR | Kill or Cure by Pixie Britton | including Author Interview!”

Blog Tour | Book Review & Author Interview | Not Like Everyone Else by Jennifer Leigh

Tour Banner-not-like-everyone-else-jennifer-leigh-ya-mystery-standalones

I am taking part in a blog tour to celebrate the release of Jennifer Leigh’s new book, Not Like Everyone Else! For my post, I will be giving you a review of Jenn’s book, which you can read below, as well as a giveaway at the end of the post!


Cover Image-Not Like Everyone Else -Jennifer Leigh.jpgRyan can’t seem to get her memories in order. When she breaks it off with her long-term boyfriend, Corey, she can’t help but feel free. But mysterious events keep Ryan asking “just what happened?” After her family moved to Ryton, after Carter goes missing, after Jacob is in the hospital. All of these afters, but Ryan can’t remember the befores. With Harper and Elliot by her side, Ryan can only hope that she does not forget… again. Will Ryan be able to recover her memory to figure out what happened when it all went dark?

As per usual, I am in two minds about this book. On the one hand, I adored the plot. It was such a great, inventive idea and in the latter half of the book I was racing through it because I wanted to know how it ended. However, the other half of me… well, the characters basically all just drove me a little bit mad. Sorry.

The plot is a kind of murder-mystery mixed with a mystery about the main character, and I loved it! I thought it was thoroughly inventive, and honestly I didn’t guess who the murderer was until about 10 pages before the characters knew. I was kept guessing and I really loved that Leigh drip-fed us through what the character was seeing.

The mystery about the main character is that she has amnesia, but to be honest I kept forgetting that she had it (oh, the irony). The reader kind of finds out things alongside Ryan which was really interesting, because we were kept in the dark like the main character. There were things that we would know that she would forget, which was fun because we got so many viewpoints of many characters.

However, the characters is where I felt really let down. I thought that there were some overreactions (maybe it’s just me!), and Ryan falls in love in like two weeks. TBH, I adored this relationship, but the only thought that crossed my mind was, “This is some Disney shit right here.”

A lot of the characters felt very one-dimensional – I felt like I kind of knew Ryan, and perhaps that was it. Also, I felt like there were some cultural differences – for example, Ryan goes on a date and automatically assumes that her (male) date will pay for everything. Like, that doesn’t really happen in England until the date says themselves! Maybe that’s just me, though?

Overall, I struggled to get through the first half of the book because I didn’t get along with basically any of the characters, but the second half blew me away. The plot was so engrossing, and I wish that Ryan’s parents and Elliot (omg yes what a guy) had been in the first half of the book, because the scenes with them were my absolute favourite!

Rating: 3/5

Goodreads
Amazon (UK)
Personal source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.


About the Author & Mini Interview 

Q: When did you start writing?
A: I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I clearly remember loving when we’d have to write stories in school. Then I would go home and write on Notepad. It was a lot of fun and definitely shaped the reason I love to write today.

Q: Where is your favourite place to write?
A: I love writing in bed. It’s the easiest place to curl up with a blanket and some comfy pillows.

Q: What advice do you have for other authors/potential authors?
A: Follow your dreams. It’s easy to put aside writing for everyday life, but you should never give up if you truly want to be an author. It’s a lot of work,. Yes. But it’s all worth it when you get to see your cover for the first time and hold a physical copy of your book.

Thanks for answering these questions, Jenn! Find out more about Jenn below. 

Jennifer Garey is a self-published young adult author and blogger that writes under the name Jennifer Leigh. She has participated in National Novel Writing Month where all of her thoughts come together and books are created. Jennifer has three published books: Incognito, In Plain Sight, and her new release Not Like Everyone Else. She also has published a short story, The Stranger I Knew. Her blog, Bound to Writing, focuses on young adult books and writing. She lives in New Jersey with her fiancé, two guinea pigs, cat.

Find more by Jennifer Leigh at:


Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule Not Like Everyone Else.png

Book Review & Blog Tour | Right Behind You by Lisa Gardner

I’m participating in a blog tour! This is stop #6 of the RIGHT BEHIND YOU blog tour, set up by Headline. My post is a review of the newest novel by experienced crime writer Lisa Gardner.

right-behind-you-blog-tour

Eight years ago, Sharlah’s brother, Telly Ray Nash, beat their drunken father to death with a baseball bat to save them both. Sharlah has had no contact with her sibling since. She’s moved from foster to foster, and has finally found her forever home with her future adoptive parents, Quincy and Rainie, as well as with her dog, ex-police dog German Shepherd, Luka. But is she safe? 

The call comes in: a double homicide at a gas station in their sleepy little town. It seems that, despite everything, Telly isn’t done killing yet. And Sharlah might be his next victim.  Continue reading “Book Review & Blog Tour | Right Behind You by Lisa Gardner”