Pondathon II | the cutest readathon!

A couple of days ago, I discovered the Pondathon II, and I am here to tell you it is the CUTEST readathon ever and you totally need to join!

Continue reading “Pondathon II | the cutest readathon!”
Advertisement

7 Ways to Organise Your Bookshelves!

It’s January, and like many of us, maybe you are looking to do a bit of organisation. I for one “sorted my life out” a month or so ago, and now I have moved onto our office/craft space to organise!

This area includes lots of books and bookshelves, so I am already thinking about how to organise these, as well as my three big bookshelves in my bedroom. I’ve tried a few different organisational ideas over the years, and here are a few ideas for you!

Continue reading “7 Ways to Organise Your Bookshelves!”

Books to Read During Twixmas | 12 Days of Blogmas

Twixmas n.

The time period between Christmas and New Years where you have lots of opportunity to sit around and read books.

I’ve heard a lot about “Twixmas” this year, mainly because my dad is obsessed with the word. I love Twixmas – we often don’t do much aside from going to look at Christmas lights, and it means I often have lots of time to read the pile of books I received for Christmas! Most people in my life know me as a huge book lover, which means that most presents I receive are something bookish related. I even received a book-themed soap from my work Secret Santa this year!

So obviously I had to start my 12 Days of Blogmas this year with a list of book recommendations!

For someone who loves epic tomes…

The Priory of the Orange Tree

This one has to be Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon. This book is chunky but is perfect for Twixmas as you probably have lots of undivided reading time! This epic fantasy novel has dragons and battles, and queens and heroes. I actually only got half way through this one before I put it down – not due to the novel but due to life happenings – so I think this might be the perfect time for me to start again!

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (Harold Fry, #1)

For someone who loves reflective fiction…

I don’t read much adult fiction, but if you love it, you might be interested in Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. This book will make you feel sadness and joy, and reflect on your own life. It’s also the first in a series so there’s more to read if you enjoy it! This is a book you’ll want to read slowly to enjoy every moment of it.

For someone who loves to read about others…

Down in the Valley by Laurie Lee

For something delightfully Christmassy, Laurie Lee’s Down in the Valley is perfect. This is an adaptation of Lee’s BBC TV show, about his life and his memories of growing up in a valley. The acclaimed writer of Cider with Rosie takes us on a journey through his memories. I read this one in January 2021, and it was a great antidote to the cold outside!

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk

For someone who loves a tear jerker…

Okay, Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk is one of my favourite books of the year. Every time I pick it up to flick through, I can’t help but let me eyes get glued to the page and sucked back into the world of the story. Every word has been meticulously picked without seeming like she tried too hard. The story will make you consider what you knew at twelve and what it means to you now. It will make you consider outsiders and insiders and everyone else you thought you knew.

Howards End

For someone who loves accessible classics…

Howard’s End by EM Forster is accessible and desirable for anyone. This is proclaimed as his finest work (though I really enjoyed A Room with a View!) and follows three English families in the 1900s. I’ve not seen it, but I do know there is a TV adaptation too, so that might help with the long winter nights!

What books would you add to this list? I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and maybe pick up one of these books to add to your TBR for the Twixmas period!

Don’t forget to subscribe to see the rest of my 12 Days of Blogmas posts!

Until next time

Hannah x

Books I’d Love to See Under my Christmas Tree!

I’d been in a put of a book slump, but the past couple of weeks has rejuvenated my love of literature, and has got me very excited to think about the books I’d love to get my mitts on!

Of course, I have tonnes of books unread on my shelves, but like any bookworm (read: hoarder) I am always looking for interesting new tomes to add to the list…

Continue reading “Books I’d Love to See Under my Christmas Tree!”

Blog Tour | No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen | book review, character quiz, PLUS a giveaway!

Today I’m excited to participate in the Creative Blog Tour for No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen hosted by MTMC Tours! For fans of Veronica Mars and Stranger Things comes an all-new YA mystery about a girl whose desperate search for her missing friend unearths dark secrets, preternatural threats, and a truth that could ultimately tear her family, friends, and town apart. Out on December 7th, 2021 from Delacorte Press, this YA mystery thriller is not one to miss!

ONE DESERT TOWN. MANY DISAPPEARANCES.

Continue reading “Blog Tour | No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen | book review, character quiz, PLUS a giveaway!”

Should I Get An eReader? | 7 reasons you should add an eReader to your library

Though I am a lover of bookstores, physical pages, and libraries, I cannot deny that I love my Kindle. Yet when the first Kindle came out, I looked down my nose at it unhappily. Why, I thought, would anyone want to read on a screen when they could have the page?

My parents bought me a Kindle in 2015 (ish), when I was about 14, for Christmas. I did use it occasionally, but it mostly gathered dust in the corner of my room. I did enjoy being able to read documents on it, and bought many classics and free books from Amazon to one day consume (spoiler alert: I never did…). Mostly, though, I forgot about it.

Continue reading “Should I Get An eReader? | 7 reasons you should add an eReader to your library”

My GIANT October 2021 TBR | can I complete two readathons?!

It’s October! The season of cosiness, autumn, The Nightmare Before Christmas, and plenty of Gothic, spooky books.

This month, I am actually posting a to be read/possibility list, because I want to participate in two readathons, and therefore there are lots of books I want to complete. So far, I’ve read two books in October (though none are on my TBR…), so I’m already doing quite well I think!

Continue reading “My GIANT October 2021 TBR | can I complete two readathons?!”

Why Do I Suck at Finishing Series?

I love reading series; I think the fact you can be so fully immersed into the world is wonderful, and there is so much scope for world building. Think of the things you’re still learning about the novel and characters in the final novel that you never even thought about in the first!

Books, Reading, Series, Narnia, C S Lewis, Novel, Read
img via pixabay, morningbirdphoto

The majority of the series on my shelf have been read… apart from the final novel. It’s always this last volume that I have trouble finishing. Why is that?

Continue reading “Why Do I Suck at Finishing Series?”

Unboxing | Books That Matter: The Sally Rooney Box | September 2021

This month, Books That Matter teamed up with Faber to bring the exclusive Sally Rooney book club box to celebrate the release of Beautiful World, Where Are You. This box had some goodies from Faber and some nice snacks which I’ll talk about in this article!

This month, we received…:

Continue reading “Unboxing | Books That Matter: The Sally Rooney Box | September 2021”

Books I Want to Read on Autumn Sunday Mornings

Coffee, Food, Drink, Hottest, Leaves, Winter, Cold
Via Pixabay

Autumn is my favourite season of the year. The falling leaves that crunch under my crisp, new boots. The smell of warm coffee, the hot water heating my hands through the ceramic, as I sit in a café, watching people puddle through the rain, a warm jumper over my body. Old books, paper crinkling between my fingers. A hot chocolate and a crackling fire.

One of my favourite autumnal activities is waking up on a Sunday morning, opening the curtains and climbing back into bed with a hot cup of tea, the rain streaming outside the window, droplets racing themselves down the glass, a good book in my hands and nowhere I need to be.

Continue reading “Books I Want to Read on Autumn Sunday Mornings”