Blog Tour | No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen | book review, character quiz, PLUS a giveaway!

Today I’m excited to participate in the Creative Blog Tour for No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen hosted by MTMC Tours! For fans of Veronica Mars and Stranger Things comes an all-new YA mystery about a girl whose desperate search for her missing friend unearths dark secrets, preternatural threats, and a truth that could ultimately tear her family, friends, and town apart. Out on December 7th, 2021 from Delacorte Press, this YA mystery thriller is not one to miss!

ONE DESERT TOWN. MANY DISAPPEARANCES.

For fans of Veronica Mars and Stranger Things comes an all-new YA mystery about a girl whose desperate search for her missing friend unearths dark secrets, preternatural threats, and a truth that could ultimately tear her family, friends, and town apart.

Welcome to Twentynine Palms, where nothing is what it seems.

Rylie hasn’t been back to Twentynine Palms since her dad died. She left a lot of memories out there, buried in the sand of the Mojave Desert. Memories about her dad, her old friends Nathan and Lily, and most of all, her enigmatic grandfather, a man who cut ties with Rylie’s family before he passed away. But her mom’s new work assignment means their family has to move, and now Rylie’s in the one place she never wanted to return to, living in the house of a grandfather she barely knew.

At least her old friends are happy to welcome her home. Well, some of them, anyway. Lily is gone, vanished into the desert. And Twentynine Palms is so much stranger than Rylie remembers. There are whispers around town of a mysterious killer on the loose, but it isn’t just Twentynine Palms that feels off—there’s something wrong with Rylie, too. She’s seeing things she can’t explain. Visions of monstrous creatures that stalk the night.

Somehow, it all seems to be tied to her grandfather and the family cabin he left behind. Rylie wants the truth, but she doesn’t know if she can trust herself. Are the monsters in her head really out there? Or could it be that the deadliest thing in the desert . . . is Rylie herself?

Purchase a copy: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | Book Depository  | Blackwell’s

Add on Goodreads!


Character Quiz!

There are so many fantastic characters in No Beauties or Monsters, but I chose 4 great ones: Rylie, Lor, Kai, and Nathan. Which one are you? Choose an option from each section to find out!

Book Review

I haven’t been glued to a book like No Beauties or Monsters for a long time! From page 1, I could not stop reading. Even my boyfriend commented that I couldn’t put my Kindle down!

The intrigue and mystery made this novel so tense and gripping. The plot is based in a setting I’ve never been to – the Mojave Desert – but the author brought the area so vividly to life. The setting is integral to the plot, and it was great to “explore” the area through the pages. The plot had so many twists and turns, it kept me captivated the whole way through.

I really enjoyed the narrator of Rylie, too. Sometimes, a YA heroine does daft things, but Rylie makes many logical decisions and follows both her heart as well as her brain. She is also able to rely on her friends, who were great secondary characters. They gave her enough help as well as being able to have their own storylines which helped propel the plot along.

Overall, I loved it!


INTL Tour-wide Giveaway!

– 1 winner will receive a signed copy of NO BEAUTIES OR MONSTERS (open US)
– 1 winner will receive a $10 gift card to Book Depository (open internationally)
This ends on November 5th, 2021 at 11:59pm EST.

Link to Rafflecopter: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/2aeeb25b95/?

Tour Schedule:
October 25
Paper Fury
@says_books
October 26
The Reader and the Chef
Becca in a Book
October 27
Ramblingmads
@Preciousbooksworld_
October 28
Sprinkled With Words
October 29
Clouded Galaxy Reads
Read More Sleep Less
October 30
Books, Tea, Healthy Me
@belle.bookcorner
October 31
Gluedtobook
@a_fictionate


About Tara Goedjen:

Tara wrote her first story at age ten about children who disappeared at midnight, and she’s been writing fiction ever since. Mostly raised in Alabama, she played college tennis in Iowa and then moved to Alaska and Australia before heading back to the continental US.

While completing grad school, Tara worked as a tennis coach, a yoga instructor, a university writing teacher, and as an editor for a publishing house. These days, when she’s not making up stories, she’s probably chasing after two small monsters or hiking through an enchanted wood while dreaming up her next book.

Website | Instagram | Twitter

Hosted by:

Advertisement

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour | No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen | book review, character quiz, PLUS a giveaway!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s