Review | The Life Changing Magic of Tidying by Marie Kondo

The KonMari method of tidying has revolutionised organisation and minimalism all over the world. Since the age of 5, Marie Kondo has been tidying her own house and life, and has had clientele all over Japan. The Life Changing Magic of Tidying intends to teach you how to only keep the items that you truly love, how to discard the rest and to make your space into one in which you are truly happy. 

I really want to downsize my things, and to make my space into a happy one. I have enjoyed sorting through my things already, but reading this book has made me really excited to start tidying and making my place into a happy place! 

I don’t spend that much time in my bedroom, and although I love my family, I would love to be able to spend more time in here without feeling stressed. (As I write this review I am currently a) in my bedroom and b) watching a movie. It’s called Your Highness, it’s crude and gross, but it makes me laugh.)

I really admire the author and her love of her possessions. Some of what she says did make me raise an eyebrow at first, but then I realised how much I admired her.

Although I don’t own a home, I have one room, I still want to downsize and make it well, because right now it isn’t! One of the these days, hopefully I will own my own home, and I will want to implement all of these tips and ideas too!

The structure of this book was really well put-together too. It followed really fluidly and I thought that she came onto different ideas at the right time. Marie Kondo’s writing style was so enjoyable to read, and I loved her anecdotes. They were really interesting to read, and helpful too!

Some of the reviews do show a culture-difference from Western ideas of the homestead to Japanese ideas of the homestead, particularly in terms of ‘thanking’ your items when you discard them. I cleared out my dog’s toys today, and when I put them into the rubbish bin, I thanked each one for bringing her joy (even the ones she ripped to shreds). It may have made me feel a bit bonkers whilst doing it, but in actual fact, it meant that when I was throwing them away was left with a feeling of joy rather than a feeling of sadness that that part of her life is over now. I’ve always believed that houses and buildings have souls and take on energy from the inhabitants, so I think it makes perfect sense that our loved possessions can too! I frequently apologise to objects when I accidentally bash into them; and I know plenty of other people do, too.

I really, really loved and appreciated this book. I feel like it came into my life at the right time, and if you’ll excuse me, I have to go tidy!

Rating: 4.5/5

One thought on “Review | The Life Changing Magic of Tidying by Marie Kondo

  1. Pingback: Top 3 Books of August 2017 | Sprinkled With Words

Leave a Reply

