Book Review | Ink by Alice Broadway

32827036Every action, every deed, every significant moment is tattooed on your skin for ever. When Leora’s father dies, she is determined to see her father remembered forever. She knows he deserves to have all his tattoos removed and made into a Skin Book to stand as a record of his good life. But when she discovers that his ink has been edited and his book is incomplete, she wonders whether she ever knew him at all. – from Goodreads

I thought that the premise and, indeed, the execution of Ink was such a brilliant idea. I love that this is a really tattoo-positive novel, too. 

I think it’s really intriguing that this book focused, also, around being able to “read” tattoos, how you can have literal stories on skin. Isn’t that such a cool idea?! (Answer: yes.)

The writing of this story is wholly gripping; Broadway is a really gifted writer. I read the whole book in one sitting, and I couldn’t put it down at all.

This type of dystopian book isn’t really one I’d normally read, but to be honest I might not always say that it’s dystopian. It seemed to be a cross between dystopian and fantasy, and even then the dystopian element only properly came through toward the end of the novel.

I did think that this novel was a little too slow in some places; it really picked up towards the end of the novel, but I would have loved that the whole way through!

Some of the bits of the novel really freaked me out, and I think they were intended to. One of the jobs in the novel was a flayer, a person who takes the skin from the deceased and makes it into a book. It seems like a very death-positive place (almost), but it’s written in such a way that it makes my skin crawl. (I loved it.)

The characters in this novel all had their secrets and lies. It was a typical novel in the sense that they all linked up in certain ways that probably wouldn’t have happened in real life, but it was so interesting to read about. The characters seemed to be pretty 3D, and the character development in this relatively short novel was fascinating.

Overall? This was SUCH a great novel. The idea of this novel has had me captivated (and now I really want a tattoo) and I’m really excited for the next book, which comes out next year! I really recommend this for libraries to stock as well, and for so many other people.

4 thoughts on “Book Review | Ink by Alice Broadway

Leave a Reply

