Book Review | Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

ourchemicalheartsHenry has gotten through life just fine, thank you. No scandals, none of his name in the paper. Until, that is, he met Grace Town.

Grace is unusual. She dresses in boy’s clothing; she has a cane; she talks when she wants to and who she wants to; and Henry is absolutely infatuated. Grace is a mystery, a ball of string to be unravelled. Henry wants her to be his, and he is going the right way about it. 

But Grace isn’t all that Henry wishes she could be. Something he is going to find out. 

I really loved Our Chemical Hearts. I thought that the story was really beautiful. Krystal Sutherland also has a great talent for writing; it was, overall, a complete pleasure to read.

For this review, I am going to do a bulleted list. There was one thing I really didn’t like about the book, which I will talk about at the end, but thus far, I think bullet points are the way to go.

  • Henry. Oh my gosh. want a Henry. What a babe. And he was clever.
  • Henry’s parents. They were so awesome.
    • As was his sister! I loved how he called her “Suds” instead of “Sadie” and also that it was never explained. It was so sweet, and I loved it.
  • La and Murray, Henry’s best mates. They were so good and really realistic! I wish La had been in it more, and I’d heard more about Murray, because I genuinely laughed aloud when I read some of his scenes.
  • The newspaper! A student who cares about a voluntary student newspaper. ❤ There was a scene concerning this paper where I legit nearly started crying.
  • The teachers. They were really in-tune, although I do wish Hicks had said something more to Henry when he had kind of figured out what was happening…
  • Literally just the whole plot. I loved figuring it out.
  • The prettiness! OKay, so this doesn’t lift up the overall rating I guess, but having fish on the chapter heading and just generally being a beautiful book gave it a boost.
  • Oh also Maddy, but I felt she was kind of irrelevant. I’m wondering if there’ll be a companion book about Maddy and Murray. But I digress.
  • THIS BULLET POINT CONTAINS SPOILERS. I also liked, *gasp*, how it didn’t finish in a happy ending. I really appreciated it, because this hardly ever happens in YA novels.
  • Okay so basically I liked A LOT. But let’s move on to the one thing I didn’t like:

Grace.

I really didn’t like Grace. I got that she was really down (not saying why because #spoilers) but she really got on my nerves. She was a user, which is something that really grinds me gears. She used Henry, I felt like she used the teachers, and her friends. I will admit that I liked her to begin with, but as the novel neared closing, I really didn’t at all. For this reason, the book did lose a star, but not just because I didn’t like her;

it was because I think we were meant to feel sorry for her, and I really didn’t. I understand grief and mourning, I really do, but it didn’t give Grace an excuse to do what she did, and that’s what I didn’t appreciate.

HOWEVER. Having had that mini-rant, I still really recommend this book! It is so good, and it’s really something I would want to read again!


TITLE: Our Chemical Hearts
AUTHOR: Krystal Sutherland
GENRE: YA
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers // 2016
NUMBER OF PAGES: 313
ISBN: 9780399546563
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: ARC I received in a book trade
RATING: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

  1. I completely agree with you! I loved this story and Henry but I really wasn’t a fan of Grace. I understand the novel is about grief but I also think she was a user. Great review😊

Leave a Reply

