Book Review | Windfall by Jennifer E Smith

32048554Alice doesn’t believe in luck – at least, not the good kind. But she does believe that she is in love; with her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday, she buys him a lottery ticket as a joke – but to their astonishment, he wins $140 million and changes everything. 

At first it seems like a dream come true, but it quickly spirals into more of a curse than a windfall and Alice begins to wish she could take the ticket back. But she knows that you can’t change time, better than anyone. Will she and Teddy ever find their way back to each other? 

I really enjoyed this novel. I think it’s a really feel-good YA, and I got through it so quickly which was an added bonus. It’s a real dreamy book – both in the way of winning the lottery, and the way it was written! I felt so relaxed reading it, although I was completely unable to put it down.

I thought that the characters were really well put together. Although it says in the blurb what happened to Alice as a young child, I’d forgotten all about this, so it was really nice to have it revealed slowly because it says a lot about the character. Alice’s character development was beautiful throughout the novel.

I also loved her adoptive family! They were so sweet, and her parents were so funny and embarrassing – aka very relatable! Leo, her adoptive brother, was so awesome. I actually think he was my favourite character of the entire book. He was really down-to-earth and so lovely, and I loved his boyfriend too. LDRs are something I have personal experience with, and although I thought the ending was a little, uh, not real, I think it’s really sweet to leave the novel with a lot of hope.

Now to talk about Teddy. He was the HUGE downfall of this book for me. He is the friend to whom Alice gives the lottery ticket, and all he cares about is the money. OKay so there is a slight redemption arc, but I just didn’t like him. I thought he was an odd character, and someone I would probably avoid in real life if you get what I mean. I think we were meant to idolise Teddy and Alice, but I really wanted her to end up with another character and it left a bitter taste in my mouth that she didn’t.

Overall? This novel was a really quick and enjoyable read. Jennifer E Smith has definitely improved in her writing since the last book I read of hers was THE GEOGRAPHY OF YOU AND ME and her characters have become a lot more complex since then. To be honest, it’s not a great work of the ages, but it’s a fun, quirky, unique and lovely little read that I would recommend to all stressed students who are looking towards university – or winning the lottery.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for supplying me with a review copy. As always, all opinions are my own.

Windfall will be released on May 2nd 2017.


TITLE: Windfall
AUTHOR: Jennifer E Smith
GENRE: YA
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Delacorte Press // 2017
NUMBER OF PAGES: 432
ISBN: 9780399559372
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: ARC sent by NetGalley
RATING: 3.5/5

One thought on “Book Review | Windfall by Jennifer E Smith

Leave a Reply

