Why You Should Do Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon This Weekend!

In their own words, Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon takes place, “For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs, Twitters, Instagrams, Litsy, Facebook, Goodreads and MORE about our reading, and visit other readers’ homes online.” Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon was hosted by Dewey from The Hidden Side of the Leaf; sadly, she passed away in 2008 and the readathon was renamed to honour her in 2009. It continues to this day!

The 24 hour readathon takes place for – you guessed it – 24 hours. It starts at 8am in some sort of time zone in the USA (sorry, I get confused). For the UK, this year it starts at 1pm on Saturday 29th April, and finishes at 1pm on Sunday 30th April. You can see your own time zone here. 

Not only that, but every hour a new mini challenge is posted. Past examples have been ones like make an acrostic poem from a title you’re reading this ‘thon, or simply commenting your current read! Almost all of them have giveaways too, so they’re totally worth it!

But why should you participate? Here’s some reasons.

  1. Reading. Like, I would totally think that this one was obvious! The readathon is the perfect time to read. And you can say that it’s participating in a ‘thon if people ask (just pretend it’s for work or something, and you’ll be fine).
  2. Connections! I love the spirit that happens around the readathon. Although the most hours I’ve ever gotten is something like 5, you feel so connected during however many hours you do. Lots of people hunker down and (somehow) manage to stay awake for the full 24 hours too. It’s an awesome experience, and I would definitely recommend it.
  3. The challenges. The challenges only take between 5-10 minutes to complete, sometimes shorter, and they’re often up for a few hours too. They’re a great way to take a break from reading, and I would definitely recommend taking part in them. A lot of them boost your creativity, too!
    1. Giveaways – this is an added bonus, and of course there’s no guarantee that you’re going to win, but there are always giveaways going on too!
  4. Priorities. You have to really prioritise reading if you want to read a lot during the readathon, but it is a fun way to push it up your to-do list. It might also ricochet into your life, and you’ll be reading loads before you know it.
  5. Living like a student. Sadly, humans have to make sure they consume substances every few hours (mostly), so you’re gonna be eating really rubbish meals. Aka, what I eat everyday! ;P Seriously though, my meal plans are – smoothies, occasional sandwiches, and I am going to make a pasta bake on Saturday night (little to no work) and then put it in the fridge for Sunday when I am too tired to do anything.
  6. FUN. Of course, this is the biggest reason. Although it might sound like a huge challenge, the readathon is so much fun. I will always recommend taking part in it!

So there you have it – some reasons to participate in the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon. Are you going to participate? Feel free to leave me ANY links in the comments below. In fact, here are mine:

Instagram: sprinkledwithwords – I’ll be updating three photos on my main feed, and my story every hour or so.
Twitter: @MB1098 – I’ll have a thread where I imagine I will be updating quite often!
Litsy: sprinkledwithwords – I’ve been ridiculously lax on Litsy, but I’ll be participating a lot on here and posting many updates! It’s a huge hub for readathons.
Youtube: Sprinkled With Words – I’ll have a TBR video up soon, and I’ll be doing videos which I’ll make into a final Wrap-Up video afterwards. Come see me be sleep deprived!
Wordpress: hannahbanana – I’ll be doing a TBR post AND a wrap-up post, much like YouTube. Any challenge posts I do for challenges will be up on here, too!

Feel free to link me to any and all of YOUR platforms, and I will follow you! 😀

So what’re you waiting for?! Go and sign up!

4 thoughts on “Why You Should Do Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon This Weekend!

  1. I really want to take part in this but the timing is all off for me. It starts at 8pm on Saturday and finishes at 8pm on Sunday. I work from 9-6 on Sundays so I’d get no reading done. :/

    Oh well, maybe next time. Just going to cheer for the sidelines instead. 🙂

    • Awww no, that sucks! You might be able to fit in an hour, but I guess that might be wishful thinking. 😛 There’s another happening in October, so definitely next time! And cheering from the sidelines is always a worthwhile job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

