Book Review | The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas

32187354Grace is a teenager. She also has Asperger’s, and a unique way of looking at the world. With her horse and her best friend, she has everything that she needs. But then Grace kisses Gabe and her home starts to change… and the world doesn’t look the same anymore. Everything begins to fall apart, and Grace has to pull it back together again. 

loved this book. It’s a brand new YA novel about a girl with Asperger’s – and I think it might be the first I’ve read about Asperger’s (I’ve read from the POV of someone with Autism before). I want to read more about Asperger’s and autism (is that capitalised) though. The State of Grace however was a great way to start! (And it’s #OwnVoices!)

The writing, to me, was perfect. I’ve read a couple of reviews that’ve said it was jerky or running, but to be honest I felt like it really reflected the way think and it literally sounded like a conversation or a novel I was writing in my own head. I just want to read more and more from Lucas.

I thought it was so relatable and funny. I can see many teens nowadays really finding themselves in this novel and I just think that that is so perfect. And for teens that don’t have Asperger’s, like me, it doesn’t mean that it isn’t relatable. I also think it’s really educational for teens to learn what Asperger’s is like.

It was also really witty! I was completely engaged the whole way through. Also can we talk about horses?! I didn’t realise that Rachael Lucas rode/rides but I saw on her Twitter something recently about horses and I really loved the horsey addition. Horses are something I love and it was written so well.

The characters were, I thought, brilliant, especially Grace’s grandmother. She was so like my own grandma that it was almost strange. Grace’s mother was… well, I do understand her, I guess, but it doesn’t mean I agree with her. I’ve seen a few reviewers be like “Whaaaaat?!” at what she did, but y’know I know that that can happen – when parents almost forget their kids, and really change in their actions – so it was difficult to read but not completely unrealistic.

Whilst all of her friends weren’t 3D, I thought that the most important ones – aka Anna – were. Cliques are so big at that age (15-16) that I felt it was really well captured.

Also, what spawn of hell did Eve climb from?

A criticism, though, is that it was too short. Whilst I felt like all of the necessary plot twists were wrapped up, not all of them were. A lot of it can be inferred, but I felt like it was just too short. I don’t think it’s set up for a sequel either (maybe a companion novel by Grace’s sister, though?), so I’m not sure we’ll get to find out everything. I thought it was a sweet little novel, but yes it could’ve been so much longer.

Overall, I really enjoyed this novel. I think it’s a really important book to read and I am so happy that I was able to read and enjoy it. I would really recommend it!


The State of Grace was released on April 6th 2017. Thank you so much to MyKindaBook and the publisher for providing me with an ARC! ❤ All opinions are my own. 🙂

TITLE: The State of Grace
AUTHOR: Rachael Lucas
GENRE: YA
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Macmillan Children’s Books // 2017
NUMBER OF PAGES: 224
ISBN: 9781509839551
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: ARC sent by MyKindaBook 🙂
RATING: 4.5/5

 

Leave a Reply

