7 1/2 recommended books by female authors | IWD 2017

iwd-icon-logoHey everybody! Today (March 8th) is International Women’s Day around the world and I thought I would celebrate it on this blog by recommending some series and books I’ve LOVED by women authors.

International Women’s Day, firstly: why is it important? Well, because women aren’t being treated fairly in society. We earn less in the exact same job in which a man would be earning more. In America, and certainly other places in the world, we have to carry babies to full term because men seem to think they can control our uteri. We have to cover our shoulders and backs and thighs because allegedly they turn men on (in which case, men shouldn’t even be out in society) and yet we’re meant to sit back and watch happily as boys run around shirtless. Men get angry if we wear too much makeup; men get angry if we don’t. Men get angry if we won’t sleep with them; men get angry if we sleep with too many of them. Men try to control and explain our periods for goodness’ sake, and they get angry when we say, “Well, actually, you don’t have a period, but I do and it’s not like that…”*

Men, men, men. Women, women, women. 

That’s why I’ve created this list. Every single person on this list has inspired me to be the writer (and, the case of #1, person) I am today. I would highly recommend all of the books (and comic series) on the list below. Women don’t get celebrated enough, and I would love to help add that number up even just a little more.

  1. Harry Potter by JK Rowling 
    I know that the series is about a white male character, but I don’t feel like I can’t not celebrate this book. If those negatives made sense. JK Rowling has got so many people to read books, so many young women have been inspired by this author and her works, especially with the many, many strong female roles Rowling presents. I absolutely love this series – it’s very much the reason I am doing what I am today – so I want to celebrate it on this day when we celebrate women.
  2. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare 
    This is one of my all-time favourite series, and like JK Rowling, Cassandra Clare has got a lot of people into reading, and a lot of women inspired by her words. The Infernal Devices similarly has some strong female roles, like Charlotte who is one of my all-time favourite characters.
  3. The Young Elites series by Marie Lu
    Now, this book has one of the best female main characters I think I have ever read. She was absolutely brilliant, and the whole series is wonderful. It’s diverse, it’s funny, it’s cute in places, I found it a brilliant read, and I would highly, highly recommend it.
  4. Popular: Vintage Wisdom For the Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen
    If you have not read this book before, go and pick it up ASAP. Maya writes absolutely beautifully, and she is a brave and wonderful individual. Popular is a book that I have read and reread, because it is so wonderful. It’s feminist, it’s interesting, it’s educational and just a brilliant read that’s so inspirational! I know I’ve just packed this paragraph full of empty adjectives, but honestly guys: read this book.
  5. Lolly Willowes by Sylvia Townsend Warner 
    This is a feminist, magical realism classic. Townsend Warner was a lesbian writer, in a society who didn’t accept it, for starters. The character of Lolly Willowes could be lesbian herself, or perhaps asexual. This novel is weird, but it is worth the weirdness.
  6. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
    I think a negative about this book in this context is that there is only one prominent female character, and many male characters: but a counteracting positive is that the female character is awesome. This book is so feminist, scientific, and just a really interesting and captivating novel. And just a side note: this is the first novel in the new Jimmy Patterson collection. As in James Patterson. As in the famous MALE novelist, whose first book in his new imprint is by a FEMINIST FEMALE. #CelebrateGoodTimes
  7. Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens
    What a brilliant series! I really have to pick up the last few soon. Hazel Wong and Daisy Wells are murder mystery solvers; it’s basically Enid Blyton… but with murder. (Speaking of Blyton: her Malory Towers series is fab.) This book is diverse, it’s getting more and more feminist, and Stevens just writes brilliant mysteries.
  8. Saga by Fiona Staples and Brian K Vaughan
    This is the half on this list, because it was actually written by a man: Vaughan. However, Staples is the co-creator, and the sole illustrator. But the real reason I’m including this in this blog post is because FEMALE REP! There is feminism, there is humour (it is SO FUNNY) and the story is from a female POV. Plus, the mama and grandmama is badass, and Staples got the media in a tizz because BREAST FEEDING?! ON A FRONT COVER?! WHO KNEW OF THIS NATURAL INCLINATION BEFORE THIS COMIC BOOK?! Anyway, it’s fab.

So there you have my 7 1/2 books by female authors that I love and recommend. I know that I haven’t covered a wide variety, and you might disagree with some of the choices I have put on here, so I would love to know YOUR recs by female authors in the comments below.

Happy International Women’s Day everyone!

*I’d like to do a little side note about transgender women and men. I know that some men do get periods. I know that some women don’t (even if they still have the female sex organs). I know that some men are being treated more unfairly than some women. I am primarily talking about cis-gendered, white males here being the mansplainers, the ones who try to control others’ bodies, as you have probably guessed. And I also know that it’s not all men. But the fact that’s some men should be worrysome enough.
Leave a Reply

