Book Review | Gemina (Illuminae #2) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

24909346Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

-from Goodreads

Well then. Let me start by saying that basically I could not put this book down. It’s been written in the same way as Illuminae, BUT BETTER. There is so much more in it, and some of the typography is just absolutely gorgeous. There were bits where you had to put the book down and read backwards and a beautiful bit of parallelism with Nik and Hanna that was just beautiful and I absolutely adored it. These books have been written so cleverly and uniquely that they are honestly a delight to read. I also loved Marie Lu’s illustrations, too.

Let’s talk about Hanna (obviously a great name, despite the missing final H) and Nik. They were so adorable! I loved these two just like Kady and Ezra. I thought, like many others, that Hanna was just a ditz in a jumpsuit, but no. Holy h*ck. She was badass af. And Nik was so sweet and lovely. The Illuminae ‘verse seems to have some really great guys (and some stupid dicks). I thought the stakes for Hanna were pretty damn high, and she really responded to them well. I kind of wish it’d been Hanna and Ella (if Ella had been of age!) though, because they were swell together, but Nik was a pretty good pick too.

The plot. Now, this is where a star was lost. There were more alien space predators, as well as the hijackers of course. But there was also a bit that I kind of just got plain confused on, toward the end. I think after some thinking I will be able to understand it better, but I also think it was wrapped up a little too neatly and quickly. I really hope that in book #3 (which I believe is also the finale?) we will get some closure and understanding. Maybe I just missed something, but yeah. #Confused. There was also some difficult and argument in my mind about how many people died? (I know, morbid.) I thought it was a few hundred, then it said there was a capacity of 10000 and now I’m just confused (again). So yes, some inconsistencies are what lost this book a star, but to be honest I don’t know if that’s just me missing the, uh, plot.

HOWEVER, the plot. I thought it was really fast paced and some of the things that happened in it blew. My. Mind. Hanna knew stuff about martial arts and how to blow things up with sugar that I will probably never discover in my life. I also want to know more about this mysterious “dust”, a drug which I’m guessing is made of stardust? Anyway, that seems fun.

I will be honest with you: I read Illuminae in March 2016, and although I knew the basics, I had kind of forgotten most of the plot (time for a reread?). Anyway, because Gemina is a sequelnotasequel, knowledge of the Illuminae plot is kind of helpful. Basically, the point is that apparently the plots were quite similar. I didn’t really think so (I mean, to be honest, there is an overarching plot of the series obviously, so they’re bound to be similar?) and really, really enjoyed it.

So there you have (some of my) thoughts on Gemina. I’m aware this review is a lot shorter and doesn’t say much, but to be honest I’ve been bombarded so much that it’s difficult to make elaborate thoughts. However, basically, I just really loved this book. I really love the format of how these books have been written, how there were so many more different types of presentation in this book compared to Illuminae. I will DEFINITELY be reading #3, and hopefully will do a reread of #1 soon! I would definitely recommend this series.


TITLE: Gemina (Illuminae Files #2)
AUTHOR: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
GENRE: YA sci-fi
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Rock the Boat // 2016
NUMBER OF PAGES: 659 (please, though, do not let that put you off!)
ISBN: 9781780749815
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Borrowed from the library
RATING: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

