Book Review | Pottermore Presents by JK Rowling

If you didn’t know, Pottermore Presents is a set of three eBooks of short stories by JK Rowling about the Harry Potter-verse. They’re a collection of some of the posts which had been released on the original Pottermore website. I’m going to be reviewing these as three separate mini-books. And… I kind of have a little rant/mini discussion at the end (#sorrynotsorry) if you’d like to see that too. Lots to be had in this post! 57d06c45180000b429bcfe13

#1 Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies

This eBook covers stories of Minerva McGonagall, Remus Lupin, Sybill Trelawney, and Silvanus Kettleburn, the original Care of Magical Creatures Professor. 

This was a brilliant first entry to the mini-series. Remus Lupin is my favourite Harry Potter character, so I squealed when it turned into his chapter. Minerva McGonagall is a firm favourite, too. I feel like JKR addressed a lot of the fan criticism surrounding Lupin, especially, in these mini-series, but it was so interesting getting background on these favourited characters. This was probably my favourite of the three.

Of course, my only criticism is that they could have been longer.

JKR has gotten into a bit of trouble recently for comparing Remus’ lycanthropy with AIDS, but reading the eBook kind of suggests to me that it isn’t like that. I feel like she is comparing it to any life-impacting illness, even something like depression (although that isn’t necessarily life-long). I may, of course, be wrong here, but I feel like she has tried to create a good analogy. It could have been taken with more care, but she has tried hard.

tumblr_nnh25l9mgt1u9dybdo1_500

#2 Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists

This eBook followers the stories of Horace Slughorn and Professor Umbridge, st-st-stuttering Professor Quirrell, as well as Peeves of course, but also the Ministers for Magic – from the first until now – and the story of the wizarding prison Azkaban. 

To be honest, it seems that the world of magical and Muggle politics isn’t always that far apart. Nice and corrupt* and just a little bit dangerous. I did, however, like the insight into the magical world’s politics, and I thought that the stories of the Ministers for Magic were amusing.

The wizarding prison is even more horrific the more you learn about it, honestly, and so is Umbridge (ugh, let’s not deign her with ‘Professor’). It was really good to learn about Slughorn, as well as Peeves, though; Slughorn of course turns out to be a much more important character than most people originally thought.

However, I would say that this was my least favourite of the three. On the other hand, I gave all three of them 5/5 so that’s not really much to go on in terms of my thoughts!

*SARCASM

6360966470234786511870742016_giphy

#3 Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide

Throughout this eBook of essays, come closer to the Hogwarts Castle. Learn its secrets, tunnels, how the Hogwarts Express came to be, and just how four teenagers managed to map it. 

I can’t decide if this was my favourite, or if the first one was. I think the first one is just because of Remus Lupin, so note how highly I recommend number 3!

I feel like this one was a lot more personal to JKR. She talked about her writing process of the books (Hufflepuffs rejoice – your common room is here!) and bits she took out and made different where it was set at the castle. I love how she acknowledged some elementary mistakes in her writing, like how she went too light-heartedly into time travel (the furthest you can travel back with a Time Turner is 5 hours, if you were curious).

Hogwarts is, to me and a lot of others, and probably JKR too, a safe-haven. It was really awesome to get more of an insight into the castle.

tumblr_lyzs32gaux1qlk7jyo1_500

So there you have it – my reviews of the three stories in the Pottermore Presents mini-series. I would love for these to be bound up into one paperback copy some day. I would also love more mini-stories! I think Sirius Black and the Potters, as well as Albus Dumbledore, would make a great bind-up. I wonder if JKR will write any more of these, and if she’ll write Ilvermorny stories too!

I hope she does. I would love to have the ability, like her, to be able to write something and make it ‘true’. Just the thought of it has my heart rate increasing and tears pricking my eyes as I write this! (That also might be something to do with the fact I am a sleep-deprived student but we’ll ignore that for now.) So yes, I do hope she releases more stories like this (let’s ignore the Cursed Child too and never again) because I, for one, would love to read them.

(Oh, and another thing, if you’re saying “SHE SHOULD LEAVE IT ALONE NOW”: it’s already canon, and in the books. This is just being elaborated on, not completely written anew! SO HUSH. <3)

Sorry for that mini rant there, folks. Phew.

SO: Have you read these? What do you think of them? What do you think of JKR writing mini-essays anyway? 


HOUSEKEEPING! Mini-announcement: after running a poll on Twitter, I have found that people like to have two book reviews a week! Therefore, I will now be doing reviews on Monday and Saturday (reading and writing time permitting!). I will always try to do reviews on Monday, though, even if Saturday slips a little. I am still at university!


TITLE: Pottermore Presents 1-3
AUTHOR: JK Rowling
GENRE: Fantasy // essays
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Pottermore Limited // 2016
NUMBER OF PAGES: Around 70-100
GOODREADS #1 GOODREADS #2 GOODREADS #3
PERSONAL SOURCE: Bought from Amazon
RATING(s): 5/5

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Pottermore Presents by JK Rowling

Leave a Reply

