The Hardest Writing Task I’ve Ever Done

As I’m back at university now, I’m having a creative writing class every week and this week, I kid you not, I did the hardest writing task. Like, ever. I dare you to try it and let me know what you managed to do in the comments below!

We started out with a five minute free write. I love free writing (most recently, I wrote about it here) so this was a brilliant writing activity. We started off with the prompt: 

Quickly, he called it over…

I wrote about an upper-class man who was watching his father and Beagle. I pictured the man as having been away for a long time in India (some George Orwell vibes going on here).

Anyway. Now here’s when it gets difficult.

As a group (there were about 10 of us), we had to count backwards from 50… and write at the same time. And I’m not kidding when I say it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done! I managed to write the worst sentence ever with incoherent word order and I used the wrong ‘wondered/wandered’. Try it. *evil laugh*

We finished with another 1-2 minute free write which meant we could salvage something tangible. Writing after free writes, I find, is always so much easier.

What’s the literally hardest thing you’ve ever had to write? Try the challenge too, and tell me how yours went in the comments!

gif_460x364_da37b7

6 thoughts on “The Hardest Writing Task I’ve Ever Done

Leave a Reply

