Books to Netflix Adaptations (and some I want)

netflix-logoWell, that’s a thing I never thought I’d write. When people started to adapt books to films and even TV, I would imagine that no one thought “In the future, there’s going to be a solely subscription-based, internet program which is going to do awesome adaptations of really popular books”.

Huh. The things we don’t expect.  

a-new-series-of-unfortunate-events-to-hit-netflix-462487I’m writing this, of course, because Netflix has recently released their adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. I am currently reading the series, and will be releasing a book-Netflix review of hopefully the entire thing next month sometime. It has also been recently released that Netflix is adapting Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why into a mini-series too. I haven’t read the book, but I will try to get around to it ASAP!

Oh, and of course, we have Shadowhunters, loosely based on Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments. I’m on book 6 at the moment, and I’ve watched the first season. I say ‘loosely based’ because much has changed, but I think, like ASOUE, that deserves its own post. 9b0dbeac-91a8-4464-9079-861f2891cf50

Netflix generally have had a great rep in terms of their own-made shows and movies. I don’t think I’ve watched a Netflix production I didn’t like, so the fact that they are translating these (already well received) productions is great. Fans have often been left wailing in the dirt (*COUGH*PERCYJACKSON*COUGH*) after a bad adaptation, and the great thing is is that Netflix seem to understand this. Netflix, whilst taking our money and time and often loose sanity, seem to really appeal to fans of their shows, so it’s really appreciative that they understand the importance of good adaptations.

I’m really looking forward to see what Netflix undertake in the future, and if they need some prompts, here are some books/series I would love to have translated into films/TV shows:

  • Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan – TV SERIES
    PLEASE NETFLIX. PLEASE.
  • The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare – TV SERIES clockwork princess
    I think that this would make a great TV series! A book per season, anyone?
  • Moonstone by Sjon – FILM
    My review of this amazing book will be up on February 6th (stay tuned!) and I really loved it. Netflix seem to be able to do great cinematography, and that’s what this novel needs, as well as pushing the boundaries, which is what this gay character in 1918 needs.
  • Timeriders by Alex Scarrow – TV SERIES
    After the success of Stranger Things, I think that this book series could really rock onto Netflix’s screens and be AWESOME.
  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – FILM
    Man-eating horses, the beach, a cute island and a great story. WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT?!
  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – TV mini SERIES
    This would be perfect come September for all those going off to university, and a mini series would be perfect to binge on when recovering from Fresher’s Flu.

So there you have my list. What’s on yours?

(And yes, Netflix – I would very much like to volunteer my script-writing services. Hit me up.)

4 thoughts on “Books to Netflix Adaptations (and some I want)

Leave a Reply

