12 Months, 12 Books | New Book Club

12-months-12-booksHello everybody! It is Tuesday so that means I can do a blog post on whatever i want. Maybe that should be a new feature? Who knows.

ANYWAY, I have some exciting news for you today. 

I’ve been thinking about doing this for months, and in January 2017 I took the plunge: I created my own online book club!

This came about sometime in August, when I took part in a #UKYAChat on Twitter. The theme was FEMINISM, and I had so many recommendations that I decided to put them to use, and get myself and more people reading about feminism.

(Also, I know the name ’12 Months, 12 Books’ isn’t the best in the world, but I felt like it worked for what it did. If you want, abbreviate it to 12/12 like me!)

The idea behind the club is that over the course of a year, we read a set of books based around one subject. Next year, for example, we could be reading a year of war books, or a year of non-fiction. Perhaps a year of plays! (And of course, this will be done in a poll with everyone reading.)

This year is, obviously, FEMINISM. I’m really excited to look at more feminist books! All of these were recommended during the #UKYAChat.

9781784293208The first BOTM is Asking for It by Louise O’Neill. I’m going to be reviewing the book on this blog, too, and I might do a livestream/YouTube video.

Asking for It is about a girl called Emma who goes to party one night. She wakes up the next morning, not knowing what has happened or why she is in pain… but everybody else knows it. Photographs show the truth, but no one wants to believe them because they show the town heroes as the villains.

I think that this book is something that is going to be quite strong and difficult to read, but ultimately a book that I think needs to be read.

You can join in the book group by clicking the link here and I really hope that you will, and join in our discussions too.

Thank you for getting this far! Happy reading!

Hannah

ASKING FOR IT: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

4 thoughts on “12 Months, 12 Books | New Book Club

Leave a Reply

