Where I Buy My Books Part One: Online

 

stack-of-books-001

Aka my mailbox

I buy a lot of books. I buy books for me, mostly, but also for friends and family members. I buy for birthdays, Christmases, and sometimes ‘just because’. So I think I have quite a lot of book buying knowledge, and now I’m going to tell you some of my favourite places to buy books from!

 

But firstly, I’m just going to say: I am a student. I don’t have £10+ per book when I get a new one. The most expensive book I bought recently was Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco and I only bought it for the Biannual Bibliothon. It cost £11 something, but I have to say that mostly I do manage to get books for £5 and under, and I tend to find quite good deals online. 

Amazon

I buy a lot of my books from Amazon! You get free delivery if you buy books worth £10 or more, and they basically have every book I could ever want. Not only that, but they have a ‘new’ and ‘used’ section where you can get the same book but a lot cheaper. The cheapest are £2.81 (inc. P&P)!

The Book Depository

THIS WEBSITE IS MY FAVOURITEST THING. I get a lot of my books from here too. They often have great discounts, but you also get a bookmark in every package and if that isn’t a win I don’t know what is. (Oh! And free worldwide delivery!) Most of the giveaways I see on Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube are done via The Book Depository (TBD). Sometimes, I find books cheaper elsewhere but usually, TBD is a really great bet for any book you’re looking for.

The Book People

For some reason, I don’t use this as much and I think that’s mainly because you have to pay for shipping. However, it is only £2.95, and you get free [standard] delivery over £25. They have FANTASTIC deals, honestly – I bought the entirety of The Young Elites trilogy (bare in mind that the final book was out in the second half of 2016) for £6.99. £6.99! For 3 books! Honestly, this site is great, but I don’t know if they ship worldwide. The trouble with this one is that they don’t tend to stock “new” books and there aren’t always great discounts. Their big USP is that they sell box sets for great prices.

Wordery

I’ve only used Wordery through their website once, and that was to buy Stalking Jack the Ripper because they had it for about £3-4 less than other websites. However, I have used it many times through Amazon and I’ve always had a great result. They also have free delivery but it kind of just feels like another Book Depository. You even get a free bookmark as well!

AbeBooks

I’ve gotten a lot of my course books from AbeBooks – they stock secondhand and out of print books and are really worth it if that’s what you’re looking for. They also stock collectables – like signed books.


I’m thinking of doing another post about where I buy books when I’m out, aka not online, and also one about how to find cheap books (because I know that that can be difficult for some people), so please let me know if you are interested in that! (I’m going to do it anyway, but it’s nice to have interest.)

I hope you enjoyed reading, and perhaps you’ve discovered a new website, but I’m wondering: where do you buy your books from? 🙂

Leave a Reply

