Book Review | Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase #2) by Rick Riordan

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon – the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki – and the price he wants is very high.

From Goodreads

29847102Okay so firstly I LOVED THIS BOOK. It is a Rick Riordan book so basically of course I did, but honestly? This was just a great novel.

Secondly? (Really, this is firstly, but hey-ho.) This novel is so beautifully diverse! I read something someone said about Riordan, about how although his first books were great, they were very cis, heterosexual, and not as diverse as they could have been… to entice Disney. And readers. And basically get really very loved so no one can complain when he turns into a beautifully diverse monster (as things should be, of course, but years ago things were different). There is a gender-fluid character in Alex, Sam wears a hijab and Hearth is deaf, and these are 3/5 of the main characters! I can’t wait to see where Riordan goes next.

I’m gonna talk about Sam first because although she is scary, she is one of my favourites. She is so in love with her betrothed, and she is so badass. I was hoping there’d be more from the camouflage headscarf, but not in this book, but she is very cool still! And then there is Alex Fierro, a character newly introduced in this novel. Alex is gender-fluid, and I really loved that there were such blunt conversations about gender; it’s something Magnus obviously doesn’t know much about, and Alex is so like, “For goodness’ sake, this guy.” Basically Alex is a great character. Although they’re (not sure what pronouns to use in a review?) quite scary. And I’m not actually sure if I like them but they are definitely growing on me, considering I actually really didn’t like them to start with.

Magnus is also a great character! Magnus has such a wanting to learn about everything but he is just so done and once again reminds me of Percy in that aspect (shoutout to Percabeth <3). Like the bit with the giant squirrel and he starts freaking out. Good ol’ Magnus.

And of course we have to talk about Blitzen and Hearthstone. I still think that Hearth is my favourite, although of course I love both, but this might also be because I keep picturing Hearth as Orlando Bloom?

The plot was also really interesting. I don’t like Loki in this book! I’m sorry. But I think that this shows him not as a the glorified Tom Hiddleston, but as the Loki in the myths? (I mean, I guess. I haven’t actually read the myths.) Thor is such a babbling idiot, though, ugh. I want him to be like he is in the Avengers! I thought that the giants were written brilliantly, and obviously Otis and Marvin are my favourite immortal goats.

There are some really unique parts in this novel, though, like the really up to date pop culture references! I kept thinking through that they’ll be seriously outdated in a few years, maybe even next year, but they are up to date now and it was just so nice to read. And there’s no romance yet! I think this, again, is reflective of Percy Jackson, where we all know Percabeth is the only OTP you need, but you can see it happening. I have a feeling that Alex/Magnus will happen eventually, but I’m not entirely sure and what will the ship name be because the names are very close to Malec. #JustSayin. This has been a very pop-cultured and fandom-orientated paragraph. Apologies! #LOL

Basically, this was a great book, and it’s a great series. I think it’s going to be a trilogy, but I’m not entirely sure – no matter what it is, I can’t wait for book 3, and you guys should definitely start reading now, too.


TITLE: Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2)
AUTHOR: Rick Riordan
GENRE: MG/YA, fantasy
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Puffin//2016
NUMBER OF PAGES: 528
ISBN: 9780141342542
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Waterstones
RATING: 5/5

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase #2) by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

