Book Review | City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #1)

city-of-bonesWhen fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

-From GoodReads

Ok so this book. Hm. This book.

After I read The Infernal Devices which is going on my favourite books of the year list, I was super excited to read this. And I have to admit: although I gave it a high rating, I was a little disappointed.

Firstly, Clary was so young. I felt it hard to take her seriously (aside from the serious stuff that did happen). Like, with Jace, for example. Clary is fifteen. Like a get that girls have boyfriends at a young age, I do, honest. But I don’t know. Something about her age put me off and made it really hard to read because the whole way through I was like SOMEONE PROTECT HER AND ALSO SEPARATE HER FROM JACE. I know. Hindsight and age are terrible things.

city-of-bones-2Secondly: Luke. Luke. I love Luke. I loved Woolsey Scott in The Infernal Devices too. I also love Remus Lupin. Maybe it’s a thing about werewolves. But Luke was just so lovely. Okay so I thought he was evil to start with. But I love it when characters change! I loved the relationship between him and Clary, his bravery, and basically LUKE.

However: Jace. I’m sorry to Jace lovers out there… but I did not like Jace! I don’t know why, but something about his personality and my personality were ridiculously abrasive and we just did not get on. So. Sorry. I’ll admit that he was kind of growing on my by the end, though, so maybe in book 2 I’ll start to like him better.

Overall, the plot was interesting, unique and with loads of twists which I really enjoyed reading about! (I guessed the Jace one.) I was kind of disappointed that, despite what the back cover says, Clary Fray was not in fact seeing werewolves in Manhatten and vampires downtown. THE BOOK JACKET LIED. However, it was an interesting read and I did whizz through it.

The writing was really funny – it made me giggle like TID! Some of the quips the characters say are just brilliant and it’s so quoteable.

Despite what I’ve written here, I am really looking forward to book two, City of Ashes and finally being able to fangirl about the Shadowhunters along with everyone else.


TITLE: City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare
GENRE: YA Fantasy
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Walker Books Ltd // 2007
NUMBER OF PAGES: 510
ISBN: 9781406307627
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Bought as a boxset from The Works (it was £12 guys. Check it out)
RATING: 4/5

Leave a Reply

