It Begins: NaNoWriMo 2016

It’s the first of November 2016. Writers around the globe are beginning to get (over) caffeinated and write rough first drafts of blooming new novels. NaNoWriMo has begun.

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_participantIn case you didn’t know, NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, is a challenge where you aim to write 50000 words in 30 days – around 1667 words per day. It’s general that you write the first draft of a novel, and don’t start writing until Day 1 – aka November 1st. It’s a very sociable event – there are so many people all over the world participating that you’ll be bound to find someone in your home town. And that means write-ins! I’m going to try and go to a few myself this year.

This year, I am writing a novel calledย The Princess and the Storyteller.ย At least, it’s called that at the moment.

Alyssa is a young writer. She has a long summer ahead of her, so she decides to write a book. A lover of fairytales, the obvious choice is a retelling… but which one?

Isabel is a princess in another land, stuck in a tower and wishing some prince will come and rescue her already. Her hair is long and golden, and she stares out and hopes to be rescued… you get the gist.

When Alyssa falls into her book, it takes a moment to realise that she is the aforementioned prince… or princess.

TA-DA!

I’m really excited about this one, but there’s a slight catch: I haven’t actually planned it yet! Normally when I’m writing, I like to get the plot FIRMLY set out in my head before, and then write it all down in half an hour or so. I’ve kind of got most of the plot, but I haven’t written it down yet! I know what I’m doing for the first few chapters, but yeah, you get the difficulty I’m (kind of) in.

Anyway, NaNoWriMo should be fun this year! This one is way more lighthearted than last time, and I am definitely going for the win.

Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year? What’re you writing? Also feel free to add me as a writing buddy! ๐Ÿ˜€ And finally, you can stay up to date with me on Twitter. Happy writing!

Also, blogging PSA: I’ll be temporarily stopping my Sunday reviews. I hadn’t done any for a while simply because, ironically, I’d been reading too much and doing reviews was overwhelming. However, still expect Monday, Wednesday and Friday blogs, and now a Tuesday blog throughout the month of November. I also have a guest blog I haven’t yet put up (shout out: sorry!) so I’ll try and get that up soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “It Begins: NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. Good luck with NaNo; I’m going into it for my third year! The concept for your story sounds amazing. I’m usually one to plan my plots in advance too, but I’m trying to be a little more flexible this year…just encouraging myself to write and seeing where the tale takes me!

Leave a Reply

