Book Talk | Graphic Novels

graphic novels.jpgI think I did one of these posts about graphic novels fairly recently, but I’ve also been reading a lot of them (especially with my friend Natalie @ Bookographic) and I thought I would share the love and hopefully persuade you to pick one up! 

Graphic novels are defined as a novel in comic-strip format. This means that you read right to left as a regular Western novel, (obviously in some languages you read left to right) and you read speech bubbles, sometimes context boxes and looking at the pictures is obviously how you glean a lot of the information!

Graphic novels are a format, not a genre, so there are graphic historical novels, sci-fi, fantasy, contemporary, superhero… basically anything you can want, it’s probably in a graphic novel!

Unlike comic books, graphic novels are often stand-alones or series, meant to be read in a specific order (they’ll often have the number on the spine). An example is Saga by Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples. Comic books (tending to focus around super heroes) can generally be read in any order (although they will be in a series) as they focus on separate missions, generally. Some volume collections have to be read in the order they’re put in the strip, such as Captain America: Civil War. 

If you’re coming back into reading or you just fancy a change, definitely pick up a graphic novel. They’re so easy and quick to read and also give a great story.

I’m only just coming into the world of graphic novels myself, but I thought I would give a few recommendations of ones I have read and enjoyed:

  • Saga by Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples. I have only read volume 1 but this is such a great sci-fi and I love it so much.
  • Maus I & II by Art Spiegelman. This is such a beautiful graphic novel – I cried buckets too – about Art’s mother’s and father’s experiences during WWII as German Jews. A must-read, honestly.
  • An Inspector Calls by JB Priestley. I’m not sure if this was originally a novel, but it is a very good and interesting read. I already knew the ending having accidentally caught the ending on the recent BBC adaptation, but I still really enjoyed it.

So, there are some recommendations for you to get going, but I know there are far more out there, so if you have any recommendations for me, then leave them in the comments below! ❤ I would love to see them. 

Do you read graphic novels? Have you ever thought about it? Do you like/not like them? Talk to me! 😀 

Leave a Reply

