Mini Reviews! | Saga, Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List & Jekyll and Hyde

Saga vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

sagaSaga is a beautiful comic/graphic novel. Oh my gosh. I loved this. It’s about two lovers who are fighting on opposite sides of an intergalactic war. In the first few pages, their child is born and they are trying to travel across the galaxy to protect her (she is also the narrator, and a good one at that).

The graphic novel was funny, heartbreaking, sexy and had that little spark that makes me want to clutch it to my chest very tightly and refuse to give it back to the library. (Seriously debating this.) Marko and Alana should win World’s Best Intergalactic Parents’ Award to be honest. Alana is just so strong and badass and basically awesome, and Marko is sweet and so clearly in love it literally shows on the page. Fiona Staples, who was the artist for Saga, drew it beautifully and brilliantly and it’s honestly a delight to read.

Basically, you guys should go and read this graphic novel. It doesn’t take too long to get trhough, so don’t be put off by the fact there’s more than one volume. It is a bit gruesome in places, sometimes people show nudity and have sex (it’s actually a banned book, likely for the cover as well which has a woman breastfeeding her child (SHOCK! HORROR! A REAL WOMAN DOING A REAL THING WITH REAL BOOBIES! WHAT?!)) so if you don’t like that stuff, no complaining but stay away. But basically go and read it. It’s great. Roll on the next library trip!

TITLE: Saga vol 1 (issues 1-6)
AUTHOR: Brian K Vaughan (words), Fiona Staples (art)
GENRE: Sci-fi graphic novel
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Borrowed from Natalie from the library ;P
RATING: 5/5! New favourite!

Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

naom-and-elys-nklUgh.

Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List is based around the premise that Naomi (who is straight) and Ely (who is gay) have a no kiss list of boys who… well, it’s self-explanatory. I honestly don’t know why I originally rated this 3/5 because there is nothing I like about it. The cover’s pretty, I guess. My whole feelings are… ‘eh’. 1.5/5

Oh and don’t get me started on the writing style. One of them was ok, I liked. One of them wrote weirdly with random emojis peppered throughout in place of words (and some of these emojis I didn’t get. Like, use words. The effect, if it’s for effect, is weird). I just… UGH.

Naomi was stupid, Ely was a prick and the other characters were just kind of ‘the main character needs you, you must come now’ kind of people. Parents were non-existent. Four characters were called thus: Bruce the First, Bruce the Second, Robin (f) and Robin (m) who got together. I mean, come on. The plot could have been ok (basically Ely kisses Naomi’s boyfriend and it all goes wrong) but the characters were just awful. I have seen people rate the film higher, so I may watch it (or try to), but that’s my two cents here.

TITLE: Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List
AUTHOR: Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
GENRE: YA contemporary
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Borrowed from the library
RATING: 1.5/5

The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and My Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

38ba2afd3b40ed8af5632344e4a0bcc7This one was one I was excited about reading, especially as I got it so disastrously confused with Jacqueline Hyde (yes, there is a book called that) in year 8. But, to be honest, I didn’t really start to get/enjoy it until 80% in (I read this on an app called Serial Reader, so it deals in percent).

I did find it quite hard to read. Sometimes it was confusing, there were long sentences I only just got the gist of etc. etc. I found the story interesting eventually, but it’s the story I know because I’ve been told… I don’t know, I just expected to get more out of this, y’know?

It was a fairly enjoyable read, I guess, but nothing special and I think that if I hadn’t been told a lot of the story when I was younger I would have enjoyed it more. It feels good to have read one of the classics, but that’s about it! 3/5

TITLE: The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde
AUTHOR: Robert Louis Stevenson
GENRE: Classic, sci-fi/horror
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Read via Serial Reader
RATING: 3/5


So, a mixed bunch this week! What have you read? 🙂 

Leave a Reply

