Book Review | The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas

the-assassins-bladeThe Assassin’s Blade is actually comprised of 5 prequel novellas to the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas. I’ve already read up to Queen of Shadows, but someone told me to read this one before Empire of Storms as apparently stuff in these novellas comes up in the book! I’ll try and review each one separately.

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord. This one was probably my least favourite out of all 5. I don’t know if that was due to the new setting, or the fact that it kind of reminded me of Pirates of the Carribean, but it didn’t really have the spark that other stories had. I did enjoy it, don’t get me wrong, but I am only giving it 3/5. Some parts were rather confusing all in all.

The Assassin and the Healer. Something I really liked about this one was, although it’s still told in 3rd person omnipresent, it focussed primarily on another character. Celaena was still badass but very kind, and I liked seeing this different side of her, when she’s completely isolated again, but not having to particularly fight for her survival. She can relax (a little) more, and this gave scope to see more of her character. 4/5

The Assassin and the Desert. Like Throne of Glass this one, again, kind of reminded me of Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (these links are getting so confusing) but it was so enjoyable. I really liked the character of the Mute Master. I don’t want to say too much about this one, because spoilers, but Celaena’s compassionate side once again comes out in this novella. It was interesting seeing her in a learning environment too, and watching her grow as a character. 4.5/5

The Assassin and the Underworld. This one frickin’ broke me. Oh my gosh. I’m surprised Celaena didn’t figure it out, but there were so many different things that made my chest clench. The character of Doneval was both lovely and not, and the whole thing will make a lot of sense towards the end. 5/5

The Assassin and the Empire. The last novella broke me? HAHAHAHAHHAHAHA. THIS ONE. Sam. ;-; (If you’ve read Throne of Glass, you knew a little of the ending of this.) I think that’s what made it worse, though – hoping for a different ending! Seeing Celaena change into the character I knew first of all was really kind of heart-breaking to witness. It makes me want to start the series all over again. 5/5

Overall, I gave these novellas 4.5/5 (rounded up to 5 on GR). They were wonderfully written, and I loved seeing Celaena’s character develop. I wish there had been more with Sam, though. It adds more meaning to many of the words and actions in the Throne of Glass series, but I think it’s up to you how you read it (there aren’t that many spoilers, I guess?). I know that this series has been seen as problematic, but it is definitely an ‘enjoyable’ series (if, y’know, crying over books and reading about assassins is enjoyable) so I would recommend it. I might do a #CritYourFaves post in the future (see: readatmidnight for more info), but other than that GO READ AND CRY WITH ME, YEAH?!


TITLE: The Assassin’s Blade
AUTHOR: Sarah J Maas
GENRE: YA Fantasy
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Bloomsbury // 2014
NUMBER OF PAGES: 430
ISBN: 9781408851982
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Bought from The Book Depository
RATING: 4.5/5

6 thoughts on “Book Review | The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Assassin’s Blade – To Borrow or Buy

Leave a Reply

