Mini Reviews! | Heir of Fire & Queen of Shadows

Hello! Today I am reviewing books 3 and 4 in the Throne of Glass series, where books 1 and 2 will also be discussed but with spoilers so beware what you read! 

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J Maas

heir-of-fireHeir of Fire is book 3 in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas. Like book 2, I also gave this book 4.5/5, but I still much preferred it to book 2! There will be spoilers for books 1 and 2 (Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight) in this review.

COM ended with Celaena going off to Wendlyn, and the epic discovery that she was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius (WHAT A NAME). Celaena’s character development in this book was epic. She grew into herself, and I loved reading it alongside her. The new character of Rowan also made a great dynamic, and Maas wrote some really touching scenes.

I felt like Chaol and Dorian, the two other biggest characters, were kind of side lined in this. I thought Chaol was suddenly very angry and bitter, and Dorian was very distant and in his own plot. It was almost as if there were three separate stories being told, and although I did like all of them, I definitely preferred Celaena’s. Dorian’s new plot seemed a little bit sidelined, and there wasn’t the depth I wanted.

Furthermore, another character was introduced! Manon, the Blackbeak witch. Whilst I enjoyed her storyline, it was a little too brutal for me.

The actual plot was a little unexpected, and I thought the King of Adarlan was very sidelined which made it hard to keep track of what was meant to be happening, and what was actually happening. However, it was a very good read, and is my favourite so far!

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J Maas

qosQueen of Shadows is book 4 in the Throne of Glass series (this review will contain spoilers of previous books – Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire) by Sarah J Maas. This was a monster of a book with very many twists and turns!

Firstly, I liked seeing Aelin back at Rifthold essentially a changed person with a new name. The cleverness of this character astounded me in places, and I really loved to read how she got herself into and out of sticky situations; it was like watching a circus performer in The Night Circus. Maas introduced another new character, Lysandra, too, and I loved the dynamics between her and Aelin and the character of Lysandra herself who was a marvel.

Dorian, again, was cut out of much of this book, and Chaol was still a grumpy old thing (although very noble too). Their endings in this book were quite obvious, but I’m not sure where they will go from now.

This part may be spoilery, but I did like how the antagonist of the book series changed. I’m not sure about the King of Adarlan, if he was really telling the truth, but it was a great ending because the book series can still legitimately carry on with clashes between characters, and not just in Aelin’s court.

A lot happened in QOS, sometimes too much for me to keep up with, but it was a very enjoyable read nonetheless and I finished it wanting to immediately dive into Book 5! I’m very intrigued to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

