Tricking Yourself Into Writing

I seem to write an awful lot about not wanting to write, but I’ve been struggling with it (“it” being writer’s block) a lot lately, so I thought I’d show you guys how I can sometimes trick myself into writing.

Do it in a roundabout way

I was going to let this blog post slide, I won’t lie to you. I’m exhausted and I have a headache. But I opened my laptop (to do send photos to my phone). I thought I’d open up WordPress to check my blog. And then, while I’m here, I thought I’d write the blog post whilst I wait for my photos to upload. Roundabout… but productive. 

Read something inspiring 

This isn’t really ‘tricking yourself’ but I think it works, too. I’m read Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas at the moment, and I’m loving it so much I keep thinking, “This could be me in the future! I could have written something as good as this!” And then I get all inspired and want to write.

Write something completely irrelevant to your topic

You might find yourself dreading carrying on with the irrelevant one and you’re practically begging to go back to your original story.

These aren’t technically things to help you “trick” yourself into writing (unless you’re doing it by accident, which would be amazing, I don’t think you can). But they’re worth thinking about if you want to write but just can’t find it in you to write. That’s what I’m struggling with at the moment, so I completely understand! I hope you can find at least one of them helpful. (Also, sorry this post is so short. I am literally about to fall asleep at my laptop.)

Have you got any tips you want to add? Feel free to comment them below, or you could always write your own guest post bouncing off the same topic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

