Mini Reviews! | Crown of Midnight, The Night Circus & The Probability of Miracles

Contains reviews of: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder. 

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass #2)

crown of midnight.JPGCrown of Midnight is book 2 in Maas’ Throne of Glass series, and I much preferred this to the last one! There will be spoilers for book 1. Probably. Anyway, in this book Celaena is the King’s Champion and, as a result, is his assassin. She kills the people whose names are given and brings their heads to the king. She also happens to be playing a very dangerous game.

Okay so I really preferred this book to book 1. Celaena seemed to be so much more fleshed out. I did love her character. Mostly I loved how she was both badass and yet she also showed really human emotions like just flat out anger and also real fear. I felt like Dorian was kind of living his own little plot, but it was a good plot so I don’t mind that much – I just kind of wanted him to be more involved with Celaena and Chaol. And Chaol! He’s just a plain good character.

I have nothing bad to say about the plot (except that it made me sad but is that bad really?). The ending was fab and I can’t wait to see what happens in Heir of Fire. I’d guessed the plot twist right at the end, but to see it written in print was so satisfying.

Basically, I’ve given this book a solid 4.5/5 because I loved it. However, I kind of feel like I’m forgetting a lot of the book? Maybe it’s because I’ve finished another three books at time of writing (which is probably it) but I hate it when you forget big book events when reading the next book in a series.

GENRE: YA/fantasy
RATING: 4.5/5
GOODREADS

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

51nln7yvmnl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Sadly, I don’t have my own physical copy to show you

The Night Circus is a magical book about love and believing in the impossible.

My first qualm with this book, however, was that it sent me straight into a reading slump *shakes fists*. I didn’t realise that it was a book that needs to be relished and read slowly, and if/when I reread it in the future, I will definitely give myself time to read it like that. The characters are very whimsical and unique and working separately but together – much like the circus itself. The book is written in a very dreamlike way, and it’s almost like poetry in prose.

This book did feel a little long in places, and there were so many characters that a few I didn’t really care about and I was a little bored during their time on the page. Sometimes, I was so confused as to what was actually happening that I gave up and moved on! But the ending was so beautiful, it was really worth reading. I would love to reread it in the future when I have more time to relish in the words properly.

GENRE: Magical realism
RATING: 3.5/5
GOODREADS

The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

probability of miracles.JPGCam is dying. There is nothing more the doctors can do for her. In a last ditch attempt, her mother moves her and her half-sister Perry from Florida to a town called Promise in Maine – where magical things – miracles – are said to happen.

I really enjoyed this book, despite its subject matter, but I wasn’t really into it. It made me sad, but it didn’t make me cry ugly tears. I wasn’t as invested as I wanted to be. BUT, that doesn’t make it bad! For starters, the main character, Cam, is witty and funny despite her cancer and she felt really realistic. She had crazy plans but actually followed through with them. She admitted her mistakes. She was stubborn.

The plot was full of miracles and things I was bemused at. Nothing particularly special, though. I felt like the romance, whilst it wasn’t insta-love, was a little too fast to be realistic (like, in two weeks he’s saying, “I love you.”) but I guess some romances are like that!

Overall, this was a sweet and lovely book, but it hasn’t shot to the top of my love list. It had some lovely one-liners, but none that I’ll remember. I’m sure that other people have absolutely loved this book, though, so I would definitely pick it up if you think it’s for you!

GENRE: YA contemporary
RATING: 3.5/5
GOODREADS 
PS, although this review contains basically an entire summary of the plot, I would definitely recommend reading it!

Leave a Reply

