It’s Okay to Say No-kay

thank-you-but-noSometimes, it’s okay to say no (kay. Geddit?). If you’ve had a long day, you’re not very well, something’s gone wrong and you just want to curl up under a blanket and watch a movie, you may not want to write. I don’t know about you, but when I’m tired I don’t want to write. And that’s okay!

Not wanting to write every day is normal. So what do you do? 

  1. Write.
  2. Take a break.

Option 1 is obviously the most desirable. You want to write! You want to get your book finished, or you want to edit that short story, or write a poem. So, if you want to write, then write! Sometimes, you might have to make yourself, but the buzz afterwards easily makes up for it.

Option 2 is to take a break. Maybe not for a year, but for an evening, a week or even a month? If you really, really need it, then take yourself on a “me-sans-writing” holiday, even if it’s only as long as it takes to watch a movie. You’ll probably find yourself so much more excited to go back to your project afterwards!

I imagine I’ve done lots on this in the past, but I think that emphasising taking breaks is so important because so many people forget about self-care nowadays. Even if it’s something you enjoy, you need to take care of yourself too! Parents with young kids still have breaks, for example. Your book may be your baby but it doesn’t mean you can’t give it to a baby sitter for a night! (Maybe your book will thank you, too.)

Maybe you already know all of this. Maybe you’re rolling your eyes at me. Or maybe you haven’t thought about this for a while and you’re thinking, “Huh, yeah, perhaps I do need a break…” TAKE ONE! I am.

2 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Say No-kay

  1. I don’t like to write when I’ve had bad days, because my energy is just shot, because having bad days, is just too emotionally exhausting for me. I just try to make sure, it’s just for the evening, that way I don’t take too long of a break!

Leave a Reply

