Just Write It!

uust do it .jpgYesterday, I started writing my second novel.

I’d been umming and ahhing over starting to write this novel for ages. I planned the entire thing on the plane on the way home from my holiday, but when I was sat in front of my computer I procrastinated – heading to Twitter or YouTube, even Instagram and other websites to distract myself from not starting to write this second novel which I have been looking forward to for ages.

Rewind. I started planning this novel many months ago earlier this year. I love my characters. I’m super excited about my plot (especially the second half because yes). So why was I putting off writing it?

I think it was the idea that this was such a daunting task for me to do. I’d built this book up massively in my head. It’s the first in a series. I feel like I have to live up to something (considering my first novel was such a disaster). And most of all, I was tired.

I only wrote for 15 minutes and managed to write 667 (or 665 excluding the “Chapter 1”). It’s not much – it’s barely a two minute read. But it’s a start.

So, in this (very) short blog post, here is my advice to you: if you have a novel that you desperately want to write, but for some reason you’re putting it off? Just do it. It’s just you and your novel, there’s no middle man. No one else is going to write it for you. It’s down to you so what have you got to lose?

I have no idea if this post was inspirational or not, but I’d like to think that at least one person opened up a Word document or a blog post and said to themselves, “Yeah, screw it,” and put the first words on the page of a project they’ve been putting off for a while.

And if you’ll excuse me, I have a project to write, too.


My posts will get more analytical, probably, in the future, but I haven’t been hardcore writing for quite a while now so I’m a little bit out of practice. If you have any topics you’d like to see (or see again!) then please let me know in the comments below! And remember that you can always send in a guest post yourself!

3 thoughts on “Just Write It!

  1. I definitely agree with you. I think procrastination is mostly fear of failure. But if you’ve set out the tools you need (since ever writer is unique) there’s no reason to be scared. The first draft is always terrible, but the story is in there, and you can bring it out in editing. 😊

Leave a Reply

