Book Review: Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

IMG_6416When Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong set up a secret detective agency at Deepdean School for Girls, they struggle to find a truly exciting case. That is, until Hazel discovers the body of their science mistress, Miss Bell – and when they return five minutes later, the body is gone. Now the girls have to solve a murder and prove a murder happened in the first place, before the killer strikes again. Will they succeed? And can their friendship stand the test? – adapted from back of book

Wow. Wooooooow. This is the probably the first true 5 stars I’ve given this year, because you know what? I couldn’t find a flaw with this book.

Okay so that probably strikes you as being full of baloney, but no, really! There was a great case (I’m proud to say I straight away guessed one of the mini mysteries, just call me Sherlock Holmes’ long-lost ancestor), great characters, a great setting… and, most importantly, great writing.

The one thing I didn’t like about this was Daisy’s character, especially near the beginning of the novel, but y’know what? That set her up for character development! Something I love in books.

Okay, so let’s get on to the plot – I’m not gonna lie, I didn’t guess the murderer. It was hard to, and I think that one of the main reasons I didn’t guess her is because of Stevens’ great writing – you just didn’t think of this character, and I’m trying so hard not to give it away so I’m going to block the next bit because spoilers. (To see spoilers, go to my Goodreads! Link below)

All of the characters were so well developed in this, it was so great. I loved them, and I loved Hazel’s “case book” where it was in short chapters and different sections – the style and formatting of the whole thing was done really well. I loved the friendship between Daisy and Hazel and how it took its ups and downs – basically, it was a real friendship. Like, how often do you read about that?! (It was also awesome to read about friends having arguments because I am, it would appear, a rather argumentative person and this causes no end to trouble in our friendship group… Anyway, moving on.)

Basically, go and read this book. I don’t know how easy this murder was to guess (I basically just say open-mouthed reading it like, “OF COURSE!”) so if you are a hardened crime reader, don’t blame me if you guess this one straight away. However, yeah, I would recommend this book. I loved it, and I’ll definitely be buying the others in the series. It’s like Enid Blyton… with murder. Aka: right up my street.

Also I accidentally got blood on the cover when my lip started bleeding. Kinda apt? Yeah. (Also, oops. I AM SORRY DEAR BOOK!)


TITLE: Murder Most Unladylike (Wells & Wong #1)
AUTHOR: Robin Stevens
GENRE: YA, kids, murder, crime, detective
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Corgi//2014
NUMBER OF PAGES: 324
ISBN: 9780552570725
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Bought from Waterstones
RATING: 5/5

One thought on “Book Review: Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

Leave a Reply

