On Improving The Speed of Your Writing (Part 1)

speed of writing part 1Sometimes you see posts about people writing 10k a day, and you probably think to yourself, “What?! HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE?!” Well, to be honest, for most people it isn’t. I know I probably could write 10k a day, but I don’t.

I write around 2k if I’m writing stories, and that takes me around an hour or possibly two. Even that might seem a lot to some of you, and I know that because I’ve been told that I write exceedingly fast (somehow, considering how often I procrastinate… actually, that’s probably why I manage to write so fast…). So, I have resolved to put some of my tips into this here post to try and help you all out! J Also, if you can write very fast, then why not let me know your tips in the comment section below? Other people might find them helpful too! 😀

This week, I’m focussing on the preparation pre-writing so you can find out what works for you before the week after, when we look at the actual writing bit! (So stay tuned.)

Tip number #1: have at least a small bit of planning.

This doesn’t have to be pages of plans (that’s a lot of planning actually). It could just be a bubble map or even a post-it note with some hasty words scribbled down. Even if you don’t have it on paper, and it’s just a bit in your head! (Make sure you remember it really, really well, though…) Just make sure you have something, because when you’re mid-flow of typing and you suddenly don’t know what to write, it sucks something sucky. So plan!

Tip number #2: get rid of any distractions/gain any distractions you need.

The latter part of that might seem a little weird but, for example, I cannot write quickly (story-wise, I mean I have to get exam essays in there somewhere) with people around me. So I have to remove myself from society (oh, what a shame…) for an hour or five and sit with me characters. I often have to have the door shut. And to the distractions I need, I often write better with music (even right now I’m listening to music!), but I can’t stand to listen to the radio or anything like that. Experiment with what works for you.

Tip number #3: make yourself comfortable.

I have RSI in my wrists, a crick in my neck and a sore back, so often I fidget a fair bit, which can drive me a bit mad sometimes, but I sit on a fairly comfortable chair with my back straight. Because I can touch type, I can rest my head back or stare straight ahead – I don’t have to look at the keyboard, or even the computer screen! (It’s a great skill, I highly recommend trying to acquire it.) But if I couldn’t, I’d probably get a laptop stand so I wasn’t looking down all of the time, and an extra keyboard with proper supports. I also often wear gloves because I get cold hands! (I even named a book after how cold my hands get. Yes, really.)

Well that was part 1. Over the next week, look at what works and what doesn’t work for you. You might already know all this, but it might be worth experimenting anyway (perhaps you’re even writing with the wrong style of music or something as menial as that which might set you back an extra 500 words every hour!). Keep an eye out for next week’s post on the actual writing, and stay cool, folks!

4 thoughts on “On Improving The Speed of Your Writing (Part 1)

  1. Planning is extremely important, especially the ending. Otherwise it’s an aimless wandering to nowhere i.e. very unproductive hours.

    For myself, the biggest kink is also the tendency to edit as I write. It’s a horrible habit which I’m still working on to get rid of. At its worst, I could literally be stuck with the same para for an hour, just because I can’t move beyond it.

  2. I usually start writing with an idea in my note book and then go for it until I hit a block. I don’t know how but I can mindlessly sit and write a few hundred words in an hour before I have to go back to my note book to see where to go next. Or, I just scene skip so I can keep going and fill in the rest later. For a party scene in one of my books, I couldn’t figure out what to have happen, so I wrote what happened after it and it really helped because then when I went to write the party scene I was able to do it in one go and it’s about 1,000 and something words altogether so it’s not bad!

Leave a Reply

