DNF’ing Books?

Nowadays, I strive to always finish a book, no matter how long it takes. Pride and Prejudice famously took me three months and a few days to read, and there is only one (or maybe two) books on my bookshelf which I haven’t read. However, as I write this, I am struggling through George Orwell’s A Clergyman’s Daughter. Even though I’ve just got to the good bit.

I’m actually really surprised with this, because I loved Orwell’s 1984 and Animal Farm, and in reviews I’d read, people often said that A Clergyman’s Daughter is also really good. Maybe I’m just too tired around now, or maybe I’m just not into it, but I’ll carry on reading and I will finish it.

There’s something about finishing a book that I think is beneficial to both the reader and the writer. For the reader, they get to see if it gets better, and perhaps they might be able to form a better and more conclusive conclusion. For the writer, it means their whole book gets read (who knows, they might be awesome at conclusions) so they don’t get it put on the dreaded “DNF” piles (that stands for ‘did not finish’ by the way, but DNF is often used as a verb and noun as an acronym).

I also hate having a book unfinished just because I like to finish things (even if it takes me years…). That’s just a part of my personality, and not everyone might have that part, but I thought it’d be interesting to put out there to see if this is shared by all booklovers or just me!

DNF’ing books might also put you off the author, which is something to think about. Has it put you off an author?

So to conclude and to summarise my thoughts about DNF’ing books, personally I also try to finish books I read. I’m lucky in that I don’t seem to pick up many duffs, but A Clergyman’s Daughter is taking me a while, I will admit.

Do you ever DNF books? Or do you always strive to complete them? What’s your view on it as a whole? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

