Book Review: Shattered by Teri Terry

IMG_6422

Ignore how weird my thumb looks… Dx

Kyla was Slated: her mind was wiped clean by the government. When forbidden memories of a violent past began to surface, so did doubts: could she trust those to care for, like Ben? Helped by friends in MIA, she goes undercover, searching for her past and evading authorities who want her dead. But the truth Kyla seeks is more shocking than she imagined as the Slated trilogy concludes. – from back of book, modified.

 

Okay. O-kay. So this is a review of the last in the Slated trilogy and is the only review I’ve done of them, for two reasons. 1) I’m lazy and procrastinate book reviews all the time and didn’t get around to it. 2) These are easy books to forget! I got lost in character names and the plot. So when it’d been a couple of months, I knew I’d only be able to do a vague review, so I just didn’t do one. But not this time! Mwhahaha.

*Ahem* Anyway, onto the actual review. This was my favourite book of the whole trilogy, and it is one I want to reread in the future because I genuinely enjoyed it. The first book was okay and got me gripped, the second one was my least favourite of them all, but this book was by far the best.

Kyla (that’s the name I’ll use for her here) is proper, full-out badass in this book, and she had so much at stake, lost so much, and was still awesome. She was brave and clever and unafraid in the face of death, and basically a great heroine. I really enjoyed her persona in this book. Aiden and Ben… what a twist. (To see spoilers, go on Goodreads.)

Stella was great, I thought, and I loved her character development. As for other characters, I enjoyed the contribution they all made to the book; there weren’t any left over or redundant characters which I found to be very good. It was nice to not have random background characters.

The plot was kinda split into two parts: Kyla finding out about her past, and then her bringing down the government. I liked that, and I liked how they were separate parts of each other. It was good to see them moving independently and yet still fitting together in the end. I preferred this plot to the others – it was horrific and dark and all that, but it also had a nice conclusion. All right, so that might have something to do with it being the end of the series, but still.

Also Teri Terry: THANK YOU FOR THE EPILOGUE. If it hadn’t had that, I would not have been a happy bunny.

Overall? I completely recommend this series. Kinda annoyingly, I found the third book to be the best (so I’m glad I stuck with it) and it’s hard to read if you don’t have at least a bit of context of the first two books. So y’know, the logical thing is to read them all…


TITLE: Shattered (Slated #3)
AUTHOR: Teri Terry
GENRE: YA Dystopia
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Orchard Books//2014
NUMBER OF PAGES: 402
ISBN: 9781408319505
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Borrowed from library
RATING: 4.8/5

Leave a Reply

