Book Review: Darkness Becomes Her by Kelly Keaton

darkness becomes herAri has always been an outsider. With freakish teal hair and astonishingly green eyes, she certainly looks like one. With her father gone and her mother dead, Ari goes out search for answers to her past. When her search uncovers a message from her mother telling her to run, she realises that someone – or something – is getting too close. But it’s impossible to know exactly what she’s meant to be avoiding. Returning to her birthplace of New Orleans, ravaged by hurricanes thirteen years earlier, she discovers she isn’t so different after all. But, if that is the case, why is every terrifying she meets so scared… of her?

Well, I have to admit, I wasn’t expecting to like this as much as I did. I didn’t, to start with – it didn’t seem really my thing, and a bit kind of OTT. But I stuck with it, as I tend to do nowadays, and at around the halfway mark, things really began to pick up.

Whilst the actual plot got more exciting, the writing stayed about the same, which is to say: gripping. HOWEVER, there was a seemingly excessive amount of swearing. And I mean, really. For one of the characters it was so out of character and I really didn’t like the swearing. It didn’t fit, it felt out of place, and it took me away from the story on more than one occasion which was really horrible. The book lost a whole star for this.

The other reason the book lost a star was, well, two reasons: one, the romance. It was sudden, a “hey-I’ve-met-you-and-now-we’re-kissing” romance, and then it just fizzled out with no warning and… yeah. No. If the romance had happened in the second book (oh yeah this is a series, forgot to mention) then it might have been better bit it really didn’t work.

IT WASN’T ALL BAD! Some of it was really entertaining, and I liked the plot twist with Ari’s dad at the end. The twist over who Ari is was also pretty good, and although I knew the myths I didn’t guess it.

So overall, not a bad book and I’d recommend it for the more YA-loving people. I’m going to try and read the next in the series because some of it was really intriguing, but a few bits really irked me, so I don’t know if I’ll finish the series, but I’ll try!


TITLE: Darkness Becomes Her (book 1 in Gods and Monsters series)
AUTHOR: Kelly Keaton
GENRE: YA fantasy
PUBLISHER//YEAR OF PUBLICATION: Simon & Schuster // 2011
NUMBER OF PAGES: 273
ISBN: 9780857071453
GOODREADS (read review with spoilers here)
PERSONAL SOURCE: Present from mum 🙂
RATING: 3/5

Leave a Reply

