Some Really Cool Writing Websites

Most writing nowadays is done on a laptop, tablet or computer. Even if it’s written by hand, it’s generally typed up. The internet is a fantastic way to get in touch with your fans on social media, and even some literary agents have started to use Twitter to find their clients! But if you’re not using social media (which, by the way, can be a massive distraction, so be careful!), what can you be using which will help you in your writing adventure?

  1. Celtx. You probably haven’t heard of this one, but by goodness I love this website. I use it for all of my scripts (it was my best friend and saved my ass during Camp NaNoWriMo 2014 when I wrote my first full-length film script using the program) but you can use it for your novel, comic, stageplay, etc. It’s designed to be used online, but you can download the program and work offline if you so wish (which I have also done). And the best part? It’s freeee! Well, the free program is, anyway: like many things, you can pay to upgrade and use all of the extra cool features. I haven’t done that, so I can’t say much about the extra features, but even these features are pretty damn awesome.
  2. Wattpad. You probably have heard of this one. The famous Wattpad. Authors like Beth Reekles were discovered on it, but even if you’re a published and established author, you can use this platform to your advantage. For example, you can publish an extra short story or back story to one of your characters, or put up the first couple of chapters for free so people can try before they buy. Wattpad is probably primarily used by teenagers, so if you’re aiming at the younger generation, then it’s also perfect. Also freeeee.
  3. Writers Online. This is the counter part of Writing Magazine, a UK magazine aimed at, obviously, writers. It’s pretty cool (I subscribe!). This doesn’t really have any writing advice per se, but it has some competitions, and a list of events which you can, obviously attend. It’s just a cool one to know, to be honest, much like…
  4. Writer’s Digest. I’m going to be honest: I have yet to properly explore this website! I probably should because it’s quite famous and pretty damn cool looking anyway, but I haven’t yet jumped on this ship. However, I am referencing it in a college project because one of its articles was really helpful, and maybe I shouldn’t be basing my opinion of a whole website on one article, but it kind of gives it a little indication of what’s in store on this website.

There are plenty of other websites out there, but these are just a few to get you started, and are probably some of the biggest ones. Celtx is a personal favourite, and if you’re writing scripts especially I sincerely recommend it. (Word is a program, but is good for novels.) I am a member on Wattpad, but don’t like it too much. Writers Online – obvious like, and it’s quite good to enter all of the subscriber competitions I forgot about. Writer’s Digest, as aforementioned, is an as-yet unexplored realm for me, but I look forward to having a look around it in the near future.

What about you? What are your favourite writing websites (oh, obviously aside from WordPress!)? Do you know any I’ve written about here, or are they new to you? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “Some Really Cool Writing Websites

Leave a Reply

