Tidy Desk, Tidy Mind?

tidy desk, tidy mindOn Wednesday, I tidied my desk and sorted all of the stuff and got rid of about two bags worth of old paper, notebooks and just about anything else. When I sat down that night, I felt the power of being tidy and clean and being able to get on with my writing instead of having to be downstairs because the messiness was driving me bananas.

I sit now, looking at my globe beside me (which finally fits instead of being relegated to the windowsill where it’s no good to anyone) and wonder if a tidy desk really does mean a tidy mind. Some people, like the famous photo of Albert Einstein, apparently work best under the messiest desk around.

So, which one is right? Albert Einstein said:

If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, what, then, is an empty desk a sign of?

To an extent, I agree. I think if you have an empty desk, you might run low on inspiration (the strangest things inspire me, which is why I have a collection of oddments surrounding me at nearly all times when I’m at home, even a stone, a lolly pop and a bunny garden ornament with a knitted hat. And that’s just me taking 3 seconds to glance around). But, a cluttered desk means you might be too frazzled to do anything productive anyway, like me.

In circumstances like this, I like the philosophy of, “Whatever floats your boat.” But you should be proud to show that boat off to other people, which is why I wasn’t happy with my cluttered desk, and I tidied it before we had any guests over. Now, someone could sit down and type away at my computer and I’d be very happy!

What’s your desk like? Cluttered, tidy, a bit of both? A tidy clutter, perhaps? Do you even have a desk, or prefer to work in a cafe or at work? 

Ages ago, I was talking to Herminia at aspiringwriter22 and said I’d post some photos of my desk, so here you are!

IMG_9613[1]

Still looks kinda cluttered, but, believe me, this is an improvement. Notice the bunny XD

IMG_9612[1]

Leave a Reply

