Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

TITLE: Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods (originally Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods)
AUTHOR: Rick Riordan
PUBLISHER: Puffin Books (branch of Penguin)
YEAR OF PUBLICATION: 2014
NUMBER OF PAGES: 404 (not an error)
PRICE: £12.99 (hardback)
ISBN: 9780141355412
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Bought from Waterstones
RATING: 5/5


“Heartwarming, how the Olympian family got along.”

I can always rely on Percy Jackson to make me smile, even if the book isn’t a novel, but a “handbook” of the Greek Gods and Goddesses. Each god or goddess of the 12 Olympian gods + two (Hades and Hestia, who don’t have seats in the council but are still major gods) has their own chapter, and the Titans, who ruled the world before the Grecian gods, have their own chapter at the beginning.

One thing you need to know about the Greek myths is that they are just that: myths, and that means there are quite a lot of different variations of the same myth, so Riordan just picked his favourite, I guess.

I love Rick Riordan’s storytelling skills, the humour, the POVs, the… EVERYTHING. These books are just incredible and I honestly don’t care how many of these books will come out from this universe, I will read them all. Eventually. (I think there are 3 short stories and one demigod diaries I have yet to read.)

I mean:

“His big claim to fame was that the Golden Fleece – that magical sheepskin rug I’m related to – ended up in his kingdom, which made the place immune to disease, invasion, stock-market crashes, visits from Justin Bieber and pretty much any other natural disaster.” – I’m currently studying the Argonautica and that makes this about 10x more hilarious.

I love Greek myths and I love Percy Jackson so this book was a 5 star win-win for me. (And the morals are just great, man. Great.) (And these myths are gruesome but this is fine to read to your kids. Probably. I guess it depends on how freaked out they get at daddies eating their children. Which seems to happen a lot, to be quite frank. (Haha, inside Percy Jackson jokes! I make myself laugh.))

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

