Guest Post: Editing and Procrastinating by Alethea D. Grace

gp; alethea d. graceImmediately after I completed the second draft of my novel, I jumped right into it again for the third. While my second draft was mostly rewriting the whole story after I decided to change many major aspects of the book, the third draft is going to be mostly editing.

Editing, no doubt, is the hardest part about writing. It takes rounds of editing to perfectly polish a piece of work. Along the way, there’s going to be a lot of hair pulling, tears of frustration, and sugar consumption. Here are a few tips on how to edit your book without losing it:

  • Set a daily goal of how many pages you’re going to edit. If your book is two hundred pages long, set a goal of editing ten pages every day. In twenty days, you’ll get through the whole book.
  • Study your writing habits. I have a hard time writing in general. It takes me almost an hour to write two hundred decent words, and that’s when I get my burst of inspiration and motivation. Over time I’ve noticed that they come late at night. Use these moments to conquer writing and editing!
  • Have writing buddies. Ask them to read your story and catch any mistakes you have. My friends usually catch plot holes in my novel before I do and point out incorrect or debatable facts. Just make sure that they’re willing to be brutally honest about their feedback!

Now, if editing comes easy to you (which, if it does, you should contact me and give me some advice), here’s a few tips to slow yourself down a bit.

  • YouTube. Jenna Marbles can keep me entertained for hours.
  • TV show marathon. I’m a sucker for Law & Order: SVU. If there’s a SVU marathon, I’m probably already in front of the television. If you have Netflix, start a new series.
  • Curl up with a good book. I didn’t touch my computer while reading Eleanor & Park by the amazing Rainbow Rowell. She even favorited my tweet about her book! I’m planning to buy a signed copy for my birthday in September.
  • Start your own blog. Finding topics to write about is harder than you might think it is. I only blog once a month and I still have trouble.
  • Socialize with other aspiring writers and indie authors. Make friends who share the same passion as you. Connections can be very beneficial and supportive.

Alethea D. Grace is a pen name for a girl who has a passion for writing. Although her first language is not English, somehow that’s the only language which she’s capable of expressing herself in through words. When she’s not doing anything related to school, she can be found on her computer writing or watching YouTube videos. She is currently working on the same book that she started over a year ago.


Click here to have the opportunity to guest blog yourself!

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Editing and Procrastinating by Alethea D. Grace

  1. This reminds me that I promised myself to start editing last years NaNoWriMo novel next month and I’m not looking forward. I read a few pages of it and it’s terrible!
    I guess a girl has to do what a girl has to do. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

