The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

The Geography of You and Me

TITLE: The Geography of You and Me
AUTHOR: Jennifer E. Smith
PUBLISHER: Headline
YEAR OF PUBLICATION: 2014
NUMBER OF PAGES: 337
PRICE: £7.99
ISBN: 978-1-4722-0630-5
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Borrowed from the library
RATING: 4/5 (-1 for the wordiness)


Lucy and Owen meet in a lift in New York during a city-wide blackout. They’ve seen each other around for a couple of weeks before hand, but being stuck together with no one else sparks something between them. They spend the night together, but soon they’re being torn apart across the globe: from the UK to San Francisco, Prague to Portland. They send postcards when they can’t travel themselves; and, in their own searches for a home, discover sometimes that it’s a person, not a place, that anchors you most in the world.

I picked up this novel in the library after I’d seen the title and cover and decided I wanted to read it. Yup, it was purely based on that.

The novel… well, it started out boring. I was bored for the first 80 pages or so until it finally started to pick up. Even then I wasn’t particularly entertained for a hundred or so more pages. HOWEVER, I did like the actual plot, even if it was so elongated by the time I realised I liked the plot I was kinda dead inside. If it were more compact, I would definitely love this book.

The characters. Well, Lucy seemed pretty resilient and cool, and I preferred her to Owen, who wasn’t the most joyous of characters… even if what he said was far more optimistic than his co-protagonist. I connected with their relationship and Lucy, but not for Owen and his father. Which is probably why I preferred Lucy, who’s a bit of a loner and has literally no friends in New York (although she doesn’t mind it that way). Owen seemed more like a bouncy growing puppy who can’t fit into an old cupboard he used to be able to and now tries to be bouncy but is to down to do anything about it.

The relationships, however, were presented brilliantly in this novel; I enjoyed all of them (aside from two, but you should be able to figure those out). I loved the development between Lucy and her parents, too, which was written perfectly.

The writing itself seemed to switch between perfect and then a grammar slip up. But overall, it’s not badly written and I did like a few chapters where they were just one line, because I thought it fit in really well with the story and what the author was trying to achieve.

Overall, I probably wouldn’t reread this again, or if I did I’d only read the ending (it was so cutesy gah I’m gonna cry!). It’s a light, summer read and probably good for the beach or back garden, if you read there. I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone who likes action or that type of stuff: this is purely about romance and relationships between people, although I would still keep it in the YA genre and out of chick-lit. (And also, the cover is bea-utiful.)

Leave a Reply

