Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss

Anna Oliphant really doesn’t want to spend her final year of high school in Paris’ School of America. But her novelist father insists, and suddenly she finds herself 4383 miles away from her home in Georgia. She has to leave behind her best friend, Bridgette, and her kind-of-boyfriend, Toph, for a totally new place. And then, well, she meets the beautiful, enthusiastic, totally-not-allowed-to-date Étienne St Clair.

I really, really enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss! I read it for a book group on Instagram, and I am so glad I did.

To begin with, I really enjoyed the plot. Whilst not completely unique – it’s about a group of teenage friends at a boarding school – I liked how it was different, with the School of America in Paris (SOAP), how Anna didn’t actually speak the language to begin with. Another thing was the fact the romance – obviously between Anna and Étienne – was built upon from the beginning. It wasn’t just a ‘bang – they’re in love!’ type of thing, but really did have drama and life problems sprung in their paths as well as their relationship actually being developed upon in the entire duration of the book.

The characters were also pretty great – finally, a main character who is 3D, is witty and one I genuinely wanted to be my friend! The supporting characters were all unique and different too, I really enjoyed reading about all of them but for different reasons. Étienne was humouous, Josh was almost a male version of myself, Rashmi was the sarky one I love but am never quite sure how to respond to, and Meredith was simply the unable-to-live-without good friend.

Anna was just great. She’s different, slightly weird, and hilarious. I related to her so much, with the friend troubles and, yes, boyfriend troubles! I just..gah, I loved her.

Étienne, the main male character, was a sweet, funny guy – however, he could also be a bit of a jerk at times, but I guess this brings out the realism of the novel. You’re not going to fall in love with someone who is perfect – everyone has flaws. I think that his were pretty bad, but Anna can overlook them because she fell in love with the person underneath. Also, I would have liked to have seen more of Anna and Bridge’s back story, as well as more of her and Meredith and Rashmi. More Josh would have been nice too, but I think his story is in Isla and the Happy Ever After, the third book in the series.

I also really liked Perkins’ writing style – it had me laughing out loud and was just addicting, much like Jackson Pearce’s. I would – and will – definitely read anything else by her!

I would recommend this to people who enjoy romantic comedies, probably more teenagers but I’m sure older people could enjoy it too, even though it’s clearly aimed at students. It’s good for light-hearted reading too, although tough issues like cancer are addressed. I really enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss and will definitely be reading the sequels – Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happy Ever After. Now just to save enough money to buy them…


TITLE: Anna and the French Kiss
AUTHOR: Stephanie Perkins
PUBLISHER: Usborne House
YEAR OF PUBLICATION: 2014
NUMBER OF PAGES: 401
PRICE: £6.99
ISBN: 978-1-4095-7993-3
GOODREADS
PERSONAL SOURCE: Bought from Waterstones in Winchester

Leave a Reply

