Why You Should Join A Book Club – Or Start One

I didn’t particularly feel like writing about writing today, so I went for the next best thing – writing about reading!

Reading is great. Simple combinations of 24 letters and sometimes ten numbers and a multitude of punctuation marks can make you laugh, cry, scream or throw your book across the room. Or, slap the person who gave it to you. So yes, reading is great. But what’s better is reading with friends!

Why should you join a book club? Well, here are a few ideas…

  • You read books you otherwise never would have. I recently read Anna and the French Kiss for a book club on Instagram – I’m happy I did, because I loved it, but I would never have read it if I hadn’t joined!
  • You can talk about books when otherwise you might be told to be quiet. In fact, it’s mandatory to talk about books!
  • Book swaps are possible! Whoop, more books!
  • It gives you a reason to get out of the house for something enjoyable if you’re finding it difficult to leave. Especially prominent during the winter.
  • Equally, if you don’t want to or can’t leave the house, you can always find a book club online, on GoodReads, or Instagram like me.
  • It gives you a reason to go to your local library more often if you can’t afford to buy the books – fun fun fun! (I love the library…)
  • Online book shops deliver. No excuses, for you or your friends.
  • If you set up the book club, or are part of setting it up, you can always mention a book you’d like to read, or one that you’ve read and loved and you’d like the whole group to read! (I set up a book group with my friends, and we’re all reading Game of Thrones over the summer, which was my personal suggestion. We all got to choose a book that went on the final list, too, so everyone had a say, and it made it much more fun (and easier) to choose what to read!)

And another thing: you can always make new friends, especially if you join an online book club! Yay, friends – especially bookish friends!

So, what more persuasion do you need? Go sign yourself up to one, or grab a friend or five and start your own!

4 thoughts on “Why You Should Join A Book Club – Or Start One

  1. Great post! I’m a member of two book clubs and I love them – like you say the chance to read books you would never otherwise have read is a massive bonus, as is the chance to meet new people.

  2. I keep telling myself I need to find a book club. As much to improve my reading habits (which are discursive, easily distracted & consist of having 10-15 books on the go and feeling perpetually tempted to start another one) as anything. But I’ve never been able to find anything local. I may have to consider the online alternative you mention to whip myself into shape.

    • Online alternatives are fun! If you have a GoodReads account you can just type ‘book club’ into the search bar (and if you don’t, it’s really quick and easy to make an account!). If you can’t find a book club, why not make one? It took us about an hour to set up a time table and then we have a two hour meeting (about an hour to an hour and a half of which will be spent on the actually book I wager!) once a month, so it’s not a large commitment. I couldn’t find anything local either – they were always when I was in college or at difficult times in which I couldn’t get home – which is why I decided to set up one of my own!

Leave a Reply

