Liebster Award! (again, incredibly!)

Thank you so very much to Janna at Writing Visually for my nomination of the Liebster Award! Okay so here are the rules…:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate other bloggers.
  4. Give those bloggers 11 questions to answer and let them know they’ve been nominated.

And onto the questions…

  1. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life, what would it be?
    Oh goodness, I don’t know. Um… If The-Entire-Harry-Potter-Series-In-One-Book counts, then that. If not… Black Beauty, I think.
  2. If your life was a book what would it be called?
    “Fucking Up and Getting On [Through It]”
  3. Who was your first fictional crush?
    Peter Pan!
  4. Traditional publishing vs self publishing – which would you choose if you had the choice? And why?
    I’d probably pick traditional publishing because it’s like following in the footsteps of all of my favourite authors. However, I would never overlook self-publishing if we’re looking at the question for a serious life style choice!
  5. Ebooks vs real books? Which wins?
    Real books, obviously! I have a Kindle but only really use it to download free books (although I have The Hunger Games on it and am not entirely sure why) for when I’m away on holiday and can’t take too many books with me because of luggage restrictions.
  6. Do you read picture books or graphic novels? Why/why not?
    Picture books were my childhood, and I do love them. I read them when I’m very upset or need a fictional cuddle. My friend is very into Manga too, so I’ve read a couple, and I got a graphic novel out from the library on a bit of a whim (which reminds me, I still need to read that…it’s due back soon!). I bought Chopsticks the other day too, and it’s a ‘novel’ told through pictures. I haven’t read it yet, but am quite excited to. I don’t enjoy graphic novels as much as prose novels, but I wouldn’t pass them up. And I just love picture books! – doesn’t everyone?!
  7. What are your thoughts on NA (new adult) fiction?
    I haven’t really heard the term used often and I don’t even know if I’ve read any NA! It’s a genre I’m intrigued to find out more about, to be honest, but it seems like we’re just splitting adults up into way too many categories. YA and adult are enough to me!
  8. What is a book you’ve read purely because of the cover?
    A Brighter Fear by Kerry Drewery. I have others that I have bought because of the cover, but have yet to read! (As with most of the books on my shelf…)
  9. What must a book have in it for you to fall in love with it?
    Three-dimensional characters, a thrilling plot and a good grasp of SPaG (spelling, punctuation and grammar). I especially love humour and tension, too.
  10. Are there any movies/TV series out there that you think are better than the books from which they originated?
    Um… I don’t think so. Unless you count Merlin, because it’s easier to watch it than read Old English! (Seriously, try it. I took a class in it and still find it almost impossible.) [NB: Merlin is called ‘The Adventures of Merlin’ on Netflix if you’re wondering what this other, closely named TV show is.]
  11. Where is your favourite place to read/write?
    My desk to write, because it’s fairly quiet and I’m surrounded by pens and notebooks, and probably the bus to read. I get to read in 40-50 minute chunks, which is about right for my reading mind, and it’s fairly rhythmic and undisturbed. That said, I don’t get much done if my friends are trying to talk to me!

And now, dun dun dun… my questions!

  1. What is your favourite book-to-movie/TV series adaptation?
  2. Can you remember the worst book you ever read?
  3. Generally speaking, how is your most recent writing project coming along?
  4. What is your strangest writing quirk?
  5. (Stealing this from Janna) – Where is your favourite place to read/write?
  6. Do you write book reviews/rate books (eg on GoodReads)? Why/why not?
  7. What inspires you?
  8. Do you have a human supporter in your writings? What do you love about them? What do they do that supports/inspires you?
  9. How has your blog helped your writing?
  10. Have you ever participated in a reading and/or writing challenge? How did it go?!
  11. What is your favourite genre to read/write in?

My nominees…:

  • Herminia at aspiringwriter22
  • Jeyna Grace
  • Candace Habte
  • Arya at thewordyandnerdy
  • Rachel Poli
  • And because I suck at actually following people and many follow stuff like The Book People and The Broke and the Bookish and The Daily Post I nominate YOU fellow reader, because you must have some stamina to make it this far down the post.

Sorry it’s so long – I do try to shorten these things! Thanks again, Janna, for the nomination, and I hope you guys liked reading it! Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award! (again, incredibly!)

  1. Thank you for the nomination! I too have not heard of NA. Why do we need so many categories anyway, right? Haha!

    Since I don’t do nominations on my blog, I’ll answer one question on my Facebook page 🙂

Leave a Reply

