How To Craftily Increase Your Wordcount

It’s Day 4 of NaNoWriMo. I am (for once) well ahead of my word count. But I know some are just starting, or falling behind (and that’s okay too, there’s still 4 weekends between here and the 30th! Don’t panic!).

Some call it cheating, some call it intelligence if you find a way around it. I don’t really know what to call it, but if you’re falling behind on your NaNoWriMo word count, here are my three tips for getting it up.

  1. Don’t use conjunctions. These are things like ‘don’t’, ‘shouldn’t’, ‘I’m’ etc. If you use ‘don’t’, it’s one word. If you use ‘do not’, it’s two. Sneaky, yes. But it works.
  2. Description is your best buddy – especially if you’re stuck. Picture the scene (heheh). You know where you’re starting from. You know where you want to go. But… you don’t know how to get there. If you’re stuck on the route from A to B, try adding in some description. If it’s unnecessary, it doesn’t matter – you can cut it later. If it adds to the novel, wow, you’ve discovered something you never had before!
  3. Add in a subplot – however small. Maybe the character makes friends with a lizard who lives on their windowsill. Or maybe they discover their mother isn’t actually their birth mother. It can be as big or as small as you like.
    A subplot is a plot that runs alongside the main one, but isn’t the main one. For example, Harry and Ginny’s relationship in Harry Potter. Use these to your advantage – I have at least three in my plan, and it’s really boosted a) my chapter count, b) the interest in the novel and c) my interest in the novel – subplots can also really help if you’re getting bored already!

I hope your NaNoWriMo is going swimmingly. If you have any questions, comments or thoughts, shoot! 😀

PS – if you are doing NaNoWriMo, what’s your word count? Mine currently stands at 7743! 

Like I said. Every time. ;D

Like I said. Every time. ;D

Leave a Reply

