Sweetly by Jackson Pearce

Sweetly by Jackson Pearce

Sweetly

Deep in the dark forest there’s a wicked witch, who lives in a house made of chocolates and liquorice…

Let me just start by saying I absolutely adored the last Jackson Pearce book I read, Sisters Red. I expected to enjoy Sweetly, too. I wasn’t let down.

It was just a dare between siblings – a deadly game that only two survived. Twelve years later, seeking a new place to belong, Ansel and Gretchen finally stumble upon a place to call home. But Live Oak carries a terrifying secret, and Ansel and Gretchen are forced return to the dark forests and confront their childhood terrors…

Although the book terrified me to begin with, I settled into the stride, and ended up just having to finish it – so, basically, putting off everything else until I had turned the final page!

Gretchen seemed like such a nice girl, and I liked her character development – from being terrified of the forests to shooting stuff inside it. Although, I wished this particular development had taken longer. She didn’t seem as scared as I thought she would have been.

I also liked Ansel, but I wish that his relationship with Gretchen had been in it more. I just loved them together. The scenes that they were together were pretty brilliant.

I desperately wanted to like Sophia, but I figured she was probably the bad guy in this case, and that made me wary of her. But, I happened to like her anyway. She’d be such an awesome friend (aside from the whole in-connection-with-multiple-deaths thing). And, I mean come on – she runs a chocolatier. Om nom nom…

I’m finding it hard to say things that may give away parts of the plot. What follows aren’t spoilers exactly, but they are a huge part of the plot, so read with caution.

Firstly: Samuel Reynolds. Reynolds. Reynolds. Dude. Is this a brother of Silas (Sisters Red)? If it is then wow, that’s pretty cool. I’ve read synopsis’ of the final two books in the series (which I cannot wait to read as well!) and there’s another Reynolds in the third one, I think. Are the Reynolds the things that hold this whole series together? We’ll have to see, but if Silas comes back or there’s a great family reunion, I will be so happy cause I love Silas and Scarlett and Rosie (probably more than Gretchen and Ansel, but shh, don’t tell them).

Secondly, I was a little disappointed that the ‘witches’ (read the next bit with EXTREME caution) turned out to be Fenris. Like, I love the idea of Fenris, but they’ve been used before, and I thought that the witches would actually be witches, add a little magic to the books. However, the Fenris also greatly added to the story so it’s not all bad.

So yeah, basically I really liked this book. I didn’t like it as much as Sisters Red, but I was exceedingly upset at a brilliant character death (you might know who it is, but I’m not going to say!) and although I wish some bits could be changed, I still really liked it.

If you’re going to read Sweetly, make sure you read Sisters Red first, because, although I guess the book could be read as a stand-alone, it makes more sense and is easily better when it’s part of a series!

Update: I’ve just started reading another book, and really wish I was back to Sweetly. Jackson Pearce, you’ve done your job well! 

Leave a Reply

