Toast – Extract

I didn’t like the prompt this week, so I didn’t do it.

Instead, have an extract of the script I’m writing for Camp NaNoWriMo 2014! It’s working title is Toast. Here’s the synopsis:

After saying ‘I don’t’ at the alter, James travels 450 miles down South to begin anew, where he gets a job in a secondary school as a temporary art teacher (oh, the joys). There, he meets Max, a history teacher who helps him to finally accept who he is with the help of some misfits in his Advice Breakfast Club: Felix, a boy with a not-so-secret crush on the school’s heartthrob; Halle, who’s struggling to cope with her asexuality; and Leafy, who just absolutely hates her name (wouldn’t you?).

And here’s the extract (w/c: 376). Enjoy! Ps – sorry the formatting’s a bit odd, it’s a script.


 

MAX

How long have you been a teacher, then?

JAMES

Not long, actually. I finished my NQT year last July, but I haven’t had a proper teaching job since then. Just supply, really. What about you?

MAX

I qualified, what, 3 years ago? That’s counting my NQT year. Took a gap year first, though. What did you do before teaching?

JAMES

Art degree. I did a PGCE.

MAX

Aah. Makes sense.

(PAUSE)

I’ve never seen any of your art. What do you like to do?

JAMES

Anything. Real life, mostly.

MAX

Life drawing?

(He winks and leans in towards JAMES)

‘Draw me like one of your French girls,’ James.

JAMES

(He laughs and pushes MAX away)

Oh, please.

MAX

Come on, it’ll be fun!

JAMES

Yeah, whatever. Maybe when we’re not sat by the coast for the world to see.

MAX

Deal.

JAMES

(Thinks for a moment)

Wait, what have I just agreed to?

MAX

(Laughs)

You’ll see, Jamesy, you’ll see.

JAMES

(Groans)

Don’t call me that.

MAX

What, Jamesy? I think it’s cute.

JAMES

I’m not 5.

MAX

Yeah well, if you were, I think dating you would be a little weird.

JAMES

(He gives MAX a sideway glance and MAX stares back. JAMES moves his finger back and forth between them quickly)

What, so are we…?

MAX

Dating? If you want to.

JAMES

(He pauses for a moment, a smile spreading across his face. Softly)

Yeah. Yeah, I’d like that.

MAX

Awesome.

(He looks at his watch as JAMES stares out to sea)

I’d better be getting home. I still have 5 papers to mark.

JAMES

How’s that working for you?

MAX

(Groans and lifts up his hands)

Why did I ever want to teach A Level? I know secondary school is a lot of work, too, but at least it would be less than this.

JAMES

If you hadn’t taught A level, you wouldn’t have meet me.

MAX

Hmm.

(He reaches up and pushes a strand of hair out of JAMES’ face, tucking it behind his ear)

And that would’ve been my loss.

(As if on impulse, MAX leans over and kisses JAMES’ cheek. JAMES’ lips move as if he wants to kiss back, and MAX lingers for a moment before pulling back.)

Thanks for reading! Any feedback is appreciated. 😀 

PS aren’t these two so CUTE?! :3

Leave a Reply

