A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

The Bad Beginning

Like the title suggests, A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning tells us the story of Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire, who are orphaned thanks to a fire, which takes down their whole house, and it really is unfortunate. Then, they are taken, from Mr. Poe who tells them that their parents are dead, to Count Olaf, who is their nearest living relative. Horrors follow – he makes them work, hits Klaus, and then, tries to marry Violet so he can secure the Baudelaire fortune. The only good person they know is Judge Strauss, who lives next door and lets them use her library. With Sunny tied up in a cage, Violet is forced to sign the marriage document…but does she?

Although many of my friends were amazed that I started this series so late, I enjoyed this book. It made me gasp at times, and I think that if I’d read this earlier, I wouldn’t have been that shocked – mainly because I would not have understood it! Still, I liked it; Violet and Klaus were very clever, and I emphasised with Violet about looking after her family. I like Lemony Snicket’s writing style, which is very witty and funny; such as repeating a line three times when talking about how you’re so tired, you just reread line after line after line after line… I can’t wait to read book 2 and find out the traumas that follow these poor Baudelaire’s!

Leave a Reply

