The Amazing Mind of Alice Makin by Alan Shea

The Amazing Mind of Alice Makin by Alan Shea

Book cover

The Amazing Mind of Alice Makin

The Amazing Mind of Alice Makin follows a twelve-year-old girl, Alice, as she discovers her powers of ‘mind-touching’ with her friend, Reggie. Over time, strange things happen – such as fireworks from which the cases disappear – and Alice feels like she is being watched… All whilst trying to solve mysteries with Sherlock Holmes, her favourite fictional character, she writes a school play and comes to clashes with her stepfather!

I really loved this book. I felt I connected a lot with the character of Alice, because people thought she was a little too imaginative, and I loved the things that happened, with the fireworks for example. I very nearly crying with tears of happiness and love at the end.

The only thing I didn’t like, when I first picked up the book, was the sentence structure – constant short sentences, starting with random words. Then, I got used to it more and I found that I really liked it. It made me feel like I connected with Alice, as it was just her complete thought processes, with no breaks, no added extra words.

And I really liked the plot twists all the way though, they kept me guessing; I don’t even think Sherlock Holmes could’ve done it!

Really loved this book – definitely recommend, although perhaps not to everyone.

2 thoughts on “The Amazing Mind of Alice Makin by Alan Shea

  1. Hi Hannah, I just wanted to say thanks for such a lovely review. I’m so glad you enjoyed reading ‘Alice;’ it was fun to write and it’s nice to think that it gave you pleasure too. Best wishes – Alan Shea

Leave a Reply

