New Ideas! New Ideas Everywhere!

Hi guys! First offs, sorry for not writing – it’s been kinda busy around here! Secondly, Happy Holidays! I don’t know what you celebrate so I’ll say that for everyone. 🙂 I hope you had a good one – my parents got me a new laptop! :O And I also got a penguin, who I think is my new muse.

So, if you’ve been writing over the holidays, is it constantly one thing, or are new ideas popping up everywhere?

Because for me, although I’m halfway through two separate novels, I’m having new ideas find their way into my head. And, sometimes, it’s rather annoying. But what can you do?

I’ll tell you what you can do, mes ami.

  • Forget it. Easily the easiest, but most definitely the most boring. Forgetting an idea?! Abismal. And, besides, that particular idea could be a best seller. You should probably ignore this option, actually. Just letting you know it’s there – and, if you don’t follow some of the next steps, that’s probably what will happen.
  • Get an ‘ideas notebook’. And, whenever you have an idea, hear a good quote, a book title – write it down! Make sure you do as much detail as possible – no matter how hard you try, ‘dog – rabbit – alien’ won’t make as much sense later.
  • On your laptop/computer/tablet, if you have one, make an ‘ideas’ folder, and then make a new document for every new idea you have. Then you can have a new document per idea, meaning you can add as much as you want, and if you want to start writing, you can move the document to a new story folder!
  • If you have a phone, and can download apps, download a free note app. Then, when you’re out, and you have an idea, you can write them down! Make sure it’s an offline one, though.

And that’s about it, really.

Hope that helps – although I guess most of it was pretty obvious?

I’m going away on the 27th and come back on the 12th, too, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to post! Have fun whilst I’m away. 🙂

Keeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep writing! 😀

Leave a Reply

