Lest We Forget

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun, and in the morning,
We will remember them.

I know that this is meant to be a writing blog, but I think that this is too important. And I also know that this is, technically, Remembrance Sunday, but I won’t be able to post at 11 o’clock tomorrow, so here it is now.

I think Remembrance Day is more important than any other – remembering the fallen, who gave their lives for ours. I admire their bravery, their sacrifice. Though I think of war as an abismal thing, their courage in the face of certain death knocks me down every time. I may value my self as a ‘brave’ person, a ‘Gryffindor’, but I think they are the ones who deserve that status.

I cannot put into words the respect and admiration I have for the troops who serve our countries, and, indeed, other ones – even opposing forces. After all, people are people, no matter where they come from and who they fight for. Most of the time, they are just following orders from ‘the highest authority’.

And that, my friends, is why I think Remembrance Sunday is the most important day of the year.

Have a listen to this song, that makes me think about our troops, the suffering they go through to fight for what they think is right, the hardships, the fallen, just…to kinda quote John Green, these are words I cannot fathom into sentences.

“When you go home, tell them of us and say,
For your tomorrows, these gave their today.”

"For your tomorrows, these gave their today."

“For your tomorrows, these gave their today.”

2 thoughts on “Lest We Forget

Leave a Reply

