Why Are Titles So Hard, Dammit

As much as I like titles – when they come to me – I’m finding them pretty much impossible to think up at the moment.

I mean, how hard can it be to think up a title, right?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Wrong.

I’ve been trying for, ooh, just over a month to come up with a title for my original fiction horse story. I thought it would be easy – turns out I was wrong. And don’t even get me started on my Teen Wolf one, jesus.

So… What makes a good title?

  • Catchy – something that sticks in your mind. For example, Peter Pan.
  • Hints at the plot – for example, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is about Sirius Black – the Prisoner of Azkaban.
  • Something people like, or makes it memorable – eg The Fault in Our Stars
  • And if it’s shortened, it doesn’t make something weird or rude. For example – the initials don’t spell something like FUCK, or it doesn’t mean something else – eg Flight for Freedom (made up title) would go to FF – fanfiction.net, a well known fanfiction site.

Dammit I hate titles. The list I have at the moment… Well, they are all, admittedly, good titles (yeah, I asked people for help), but none of them really fit the stories I’m writing.

How do you do titles? Do they come to you easily, or are they a last-minute job?

– Hannah 😀

Oh, and my NaNoWriMo word count, which I will update at the end of the day so this will disappear later, currently stands at 1386. 🙂

NaBloPoMo Index

Leave a Reply

